White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Delicious! Dense, used extra almond extract, used only about 3 3/4 c conf sugar for frosting (it IS sweet!). Very quick to make - ahhhhh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
If you need a last-minute cake for a bake sale, party, potluck, etc... this is *the* cake. Yeah, the frosting is really, REALLY sweet, but that just ensures small pieces :). Oh, a discovery since I've made this recipe a few times: the butter in the cake batter can be successfully reduced by a 1/4 cup without compromising the integrity of the cake ... hey, every little bit helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was a last minute emergency birthday cake. The part that caught my eye was that you basically dump everything in a bowl and 20 minutes later you have a cake. Honestly this was one of the best cakes that I have made from scratch. I did not do the icing. I ran out of time for it to cool. The cake was so good that the icing was not quite necessary anyways. We just put the ice cream on top of the still warm cake as it was served. The cake was amazing without it. My 1 year old daughter wouldn't even eat her store bought birthday cake. She liked this better. This will definitely become one of my go to recipes. * My changes. I was out of almond extract so I used vanilla but eh. No a big change. I do agree with the previous poster that you could cut back on some of the sugar if that is an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was fabulous!! ;) My friend loved it so much she said "this cake is worth getting fat over." Delicious, rich, moist & decadent... it was a treat. {I used chopped pecans for the frosting instead of walnuts... it was wonderful!!}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's my favorite to go to for a last minute dessert. Everyone loves is and it feeds a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Locke Cooking
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was pretty yummy. I substituted vanilla for the almond. Also, 4.5 cups of confectioners' sugar seemed like way too much, so I used about 2 cups and went heavy on the walnuts. The cake could use a little something, so next time I think I'll add a little cinnamon and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robertroome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I have been making this cake for years. My kids always want this for their birthday cake made with vanilla extract and chocolate butter cream frosting. Absolutely the easiest cake to make. Absolutely the yummiest too! Thanks for sharing Joanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maurakatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This cake is so good! It is very moist and rich. I followed the recipe for the cake, but I used a 9X13 inch pan. I also cut back on the frosting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I´m loving it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is my daughter's favorite cake. I have to say, that if it wasn't so high in fat and calories, we would have this more often. I love the almond flavor. The fact that this cake bakes so quickly and the frosting is added while the cake is warm makes this cake even more appealing. And it does seem to get better if made ahead of time. This cake is wonderful for a potluck, which is what I made mine for. It was incredibly popular with kids and adults. I cut mine into individual servings and topped each with 1/2 of a cherry. I sprinkled this cake with almonds instead of walnuts, because of the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States