White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
While super easy to make, it ended up being very dense and not at all a white cake. Even though I used only 3 cups of powdered sugar, the frosting was still too sweet. And it didn't get better the next day; on the contrary, it was best the first day. Would keep in my recipe box only for the simplicity, but needs major tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My daughter thought the icing was too sweet, and gave it a 3.5. Hubby gave it a 4.5 for being slightly too sweet, but still very good, and more or less like a yellow version of the original Texas Sheet Cake. I liked it, though I will cut the sugar on the icing in the future. I wish I had found this sooner, so overall, we give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
we call it crack cake 'cause you can't stop eating it! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Everyone who tried these and the cake I made too said they loved this. The almond extract kept bringing people back for seconds. Moist cake. I double the recipe to make a quarter sheet pan and there were no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Wow, what a great and super-simple cake! I couldn't even wait for it to cool to eat it and it's very light and fluffy and moist and just mmmmmm. I realized I was out of almond extract when I was halfway through mixing everything so I ended up using a tsp of vanilla and a tsp of amaretto in the batter, then just vanilla in the frosting. Only used 3 cups of powdered sugar in the icing and that is plenty. Thanks for an awesome recipe! Edit: Just made it a second time and had pure almond extract this time. Awesome! Not sure which I like better -- with vanilla or almond -- but they are both fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
was awesome!! Love it. I started to make it and suddenly realized I did not have the sour cream I thought I had. So I used heavy whip cream and added another egg and more flour. Even w/ these substitution and additions it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsGMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This cake reminded me of an almond petite fourthat I got from a bakery.I love almond, and this cake was much easier to makeand of course less expensive than a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I am really surprised at all the high ratings, which is why I made this cake, plus white cake is my favorite. First,this cake is way too sweet; I mean sickening sweet. Also, way too much almond extract (almond flavor). I may have liked vanilla extract better. Third, the amount of powered sugar (4.5 cups) is way off...you'll need either more butter/milk or less powered sugar. As is, I had to add more milk.butter to the frosting and found I had way too much frosting. For others, cut back on the powdered sugar (3.5 should be plenty). It's the frosting that makes this way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is an awesome recipe, I made it for a party at work and everyone loved it. I have made it a couple of times and I have found that it needs to bake for about 30 - 32 min. Thanks so much for sharing this recipes :) It is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Made exactly as stated but my cakes were so flat and dense. I assume its because I over mixed it, but whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States