White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Tastes all right and was very easy to make but I did not care for the texture. My mom loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bel920
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious and very versatile. I can only really rate the cake, as I did not choose to make the frosting, but the cake - oh, the CAKE! Such great texture and amazing flavor. It's incredible what a tsp of almond extract can do for a cake. I've made it twice now - once as a sheet cake with chocolate frosting and once I poured it in two round cake pans and made a layer cake (and had it with vanilla frosting from a can, whipped with a tsp of almond extract to complement the cake flavor). Both times were spectacular and I will make this cake again and again and again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I now have to make this recipe for every birthday in my family. It's super easy and tastes a hundred times better than regular cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I just made this recipe for a friend. Her sister had made it years ago and we couldn't stop sneaking little slices the whole day we visited. Now I have a copy...hooray! Making it brought back the memory and it was even better this time around. YUM! I only changed a couple of things. I have a darker pan (Wilton) so I decreased the temp by 25 degrees and it baked in 18min. I also made the frosting while the cake was baking and put it on immediately out of the oven. My mom has made the chocolate version for years and that's how it's made. So good! BE WARNED... this is NOT a traditional sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This cake is delicious! I used buttermilk instead of sour cream but all was still well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I needed something to make into a flag cake, and also something that didn't list boxed cake mix as an ingredient! I had to sub vanilla yogurt for sour cream. This is a very tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I used this to make a layer cake using round cake pans and it worked perfectly. I subbed vanilla for the almond extract in both the cake and frosting and used Lemon Curd (from this site) between the layers. I halved the frosting recipe so that I would have just enough to spread on the top of the cake and then sprinkled with slivered almonds (instead of walnuts). It was beautiful, dense, moist, and delicious! I will definitely use this as a standard white cake recipe in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe is so easy, so good, and so moist! Even better the next day. I usually skip the icing because we love it without and it's a little too sweet for us with the icing. If you can cut the sweetness a tad the icing is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I thought the frosting was way too sweet. Also I cooked it in a 9 x 13 pan and I think it didn't cook long enough because the cake was really really dense and SUPER sweet. My husband loved it, but it was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Delicious. I did find the frosting to be a little too sweet though. I also cooked this in a 9x13 because that is all I had so it made the cake a little fatter than I would have liked and I had to greatly increase the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States