White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
While super easy to make, it ended up being very dense and not at all a white cake. Even though I used only 3 cups of powdered sugar, the frosting was still too sweet. And it didn't get better the next day; on the contrary, it was best the first day. Would keep in my recipe box only for the simplicity, but needs major tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My daughter thought the icing was too sweet, and gave it a 3.5. Hubby gave it a 4.5 for being slightly too sweet, but still very good, and more or less like a yellow version of the original Texas Sheet Cake. I liked it, though I will cut the sugar on the icing in the future. I wish I had found this sooner, so overall, we give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
we call it crack cake 'cause you can't stop eating it! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Everyone who tried these and the cake I made too said they loved this. The almond extract kept bringing people back for seconds. Moist cake. I double the recipe to make a quarter sheet pan and there were no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Wow, what a great and super-simple cake! I couldn't even wait for it to cool to eat it and it's very light and fluffy and moist and just mmmmmm. I realized I was out of almond extract when I was halfway through mixing everything so I ended up using a tsp of vanilla and a tsp of amaretto in the batter, then just vanilla in the frosting. Only used 3 cups of powdered sugar in the icing and that is plenty. Thanks for an awesome recipe! Edit: Just made it a second time and had pure almond extract this time. Awesome! Not sure which I like better -- with vanilla or almond -- but they are both fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
was awesome!! Love it. I started to make it and suddenly realized I did not have the sour cream I thought I had. So I used heavy whip cream and added another egg and more flour. Even w/ these substitution and additions it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsGMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This cake reminded me of an almond petite fourthat I got from a bakery.I love almond, and this cake was much easier to makeand of course less expensive than a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I am really surprised at all the high ratings, which is why I made this cake, plus white cake is my favorite. First,this cake is way too sweet; I mean sickening sweet. Also, way too much almond extract (almond flavor). I may have liked vanilla extract better. Third, the amount of powered sugar (4.5 cups) is way off...you'll need either more butter/milk or less powered sugar. As is, I had to add more milk.butter to the frosting and found I had way too much frosting. For others, cut back on the powdered sugar (3.5 should be plenty). It's the frosting that makes this way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is an awesome recipe, I made it for a party at work and everyone loved it. I have made it a couple of times and I have found that it needs to bake for about 30 - 32 min. Thanks so much for sharing this recipes :) It is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Made exactly as stated but my cakes were so flat and dense. I assume its because I over mixed it, but whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States