White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
So yummy! I have to make sure only to make this when I'm baking for a crowd, otherwise I eat too much. I used coconut oil and margarine instead of the butter and slivered almonds for the waluts. Easy to make dairy-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Made this Saturday for a Sunday cook out. Did cut back to 3 cups of confectioners sugar and added toasted almonds in with the icing. Absolutely delicious and loved by all. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
My husband and family love,love,love this recipe!!! I had no almond extract, so I used vanilla extract and it was such a hit! Even our extended family requests it at family functions! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I flour the bottom of the greased pan. Do not let it cool 20 minutes or the frosting will get hard. I do not stir in the walnuts in the frosting because it looks prettier just to sprinkle them on top of the frosting. For a variation, I added frozen huckleberries after I have poured the mixture in the baking pan. Everyone keeps coming back for seconds and thirds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My kids loved it. My daughter hates cake and this is the ONLY cake she LOVES so far. We made it for a birthday party, along with a chocolate texas sheet cake. The white cake was gobbled up much faster than the chocolate! It was the best cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Excellent. I went with almond cake and vanilla in the frosting. I always have the ingredients available so it's a easy quick dessert for a last minute cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage Fare

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Well, it sure was the easiest and fastest cake I've ever put together from start to finish. It took only 35 minutes, total, to have a completely baked and frosted cake. If that weren't enough, I did the whole thing in one sauce pan and only dirtied a whisk, a rubber spatula and a couple of measuring cups and spoons; a dish-aphobe's dream! The cake was excellent, nice and finely textured and fluffy. I might cut back on the sugar next time. The frosting was way over the top sweet, but very tasty. I did add salt to the frosting to try to tame the sweetness, but it didn't do enough. I will make the cake again. I might be tempted to use the frosting on cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommy Haze
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The frosting was sickeningly sweet... the cake itself was pretty good though, so i turned it to a muffin instead and added a cup of almonds. You can check my blog for some tips on the procedure. http://hazedandbaked.blogspot.com/2012/07/how-to-make-almond-muffins.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy Haze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made this recipe this weekend at my in-laws. It was awesome!!! Very moist - but as some others have noted - VERY sweet! I have a horrible sweet tooth so for me to say that - if you're not into sweet, you might want to tone down the powdered sugar in the icing. I did have to substitute soured milk for the sour cream as I didn't have any sour cream and didn't want to have to go to the store. I'll have to try the original but this one was so moist and delicious, it's going to be hard to top it! Thanks for the new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made this cake today just as written, except I omitted the nuts. It is delicious. Thanks Joanie for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States