White Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
It was okay. Kind of a funny flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made this for my family tonight. I am a vegetarian so I can not vouche for the results myself but my husband and children enjoyed it. I added some chopped onion. I did not have mushroom soup or liquid smoke so I used a can of cream of chicken soup and some Bragg's liquid Amminos instead. My husband said it was like a stroganoff sandwich and my picky son ate two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Like the other members said bland. Tasted like gravy for biscuits and gravy. I added an onion to the ground beef. I prefer regular sloppy joes. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Very delicious--I had never had a sandwich like it! I used recipe crumbles (fake ground beef) instead of meat, and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
We made this and after omitting the liquid smoke, enjoyed on top of grilled buns open-faced. We had alongside of fries, beans and green salad. Very good. Excellent way to make a simple meal. Will make again, the whole family really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
We really wanted to like these - they looked so unique. However, as my husband said, they smelled much more flavorfull than they actually tasted :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Based on the other reviews, I was really expecting a plain hamburger gravy taste. My husband and I not only thought it was bland, it just seemed off. The flavors didn't blend well, and adding it to garlic toast didn't seem to help either. I really think this is a recipe you have to have an acquired taste for. If you are looking for a 'sloppy joe' taste, this might not be what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
have made this twice-first time served it on texas toast & the next time over mashed potatoes. Easy to adjust/add whatever seasonings you are in the mood for. Husband liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I tried this since it got some good reviews and I thought it would be a good, quick dinner. The smoke flavor was overwhelming. Not a repeater in our house. The kids thought it looked like dog food and refused to touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Great recipe! we eat it 3 or 4 times a month but we subtitute texas toast for the buns and eat it SOS style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDBILL2000
Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States