White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a good sauce-what I like about it is that it's a base for other sauces. For a cheese sauce, just add cheese. Definitely gonna be using this recipe again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Well believe it or not I've never made my own white sauce-mainly because I can't do regular milk! However I gave this a go, using unsweetened coconut milk (Silk brand) It worked perfectly! I added one clove fresh minced garlic and some basil pesto and some parm cheese. I had sauteed some veggies, so this was perfect with some angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great basic white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NINAMERRICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Added a little Cherchie's Champagne Mustard, and a smidge of nutmeg and a little curry. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMarge

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
yummy!Just made it last night and will certainly keep this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Excellent white sauce. I doubled recipe and added grated parmesean cheese, italian seasoning and black pepper. I loved that I was able to refrigerate leftover sauce and use in a different recipe a couple nights later. It did thicken when cooled but reheated was back to original consistnecy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Simple and versatile, a great starter sauce for any pasta. Alfredo isn't an option sinice Hubby doesn't like parmesan, so this is a nice alternative to the standard tomato sauce that the kids love. A little salt & pepper, and some extra milk to thin it and it was perfect on bocconcini pasta (mini rigatoni). Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Thanks for the recipe...so simple my 10y.o. Daughter makes it. Wouldn't think something so easy would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Basic recipe that allows for one's imagination to run wild with! Great starter sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Just finished making some mac and cheese using this recipe as my base. I used 2 cups of milk instead of one and did not double the butter/flour. Once it began to thicken I started adding cheddar cheese, hand fulls at a time which came out to 3/4 cup (approx). I had boiled 3 cups of elbow mac and poured the cheese mix over it, stirring as I poured. I then salted to taste, about 1 tsp by the end of it all and the mac n cheese was perfect. Thanx for the basic recipe, I can't wait to mess around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Vancleave, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States