White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Basic recipe that allows for one's imagination to run wild with! Great starter sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Just finished making some mac and cheese using this recipe as my base. I used 2 cups of milk instead of one and did not double the butter/flour. Once it began to thicken I started adding cheddar cheese, hand fulls at a time which came out to 3/4 cup (approx). I had boiled 3 cups of elbow mac and poured the cheese mix over it, stirring as I poured. I then salted to taste, about 1 tsp by the end of it all and the mac n cheese was perfect. Thanx for the basic recipe, I can't wait to mess around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Vancleave, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is also a great base for a vanilla sauce I use on Pumpkin cream cheese cake. You just add sugar and vanilla. That simple. Good to use for cheese sauce, just add grated cheddar and grated Parmesan. Any good cheese that will melt make for tasty veg topping or mac and cheese. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Hooray for white sauce! I wanted to make a real live cheese sauce for broccoli like my Mum always made, and this turned out perfectly. I used to be her designated stirrer and cheese adder. I think I added about 6 oz. of grated cheddar. I will use this recipe base for all my sauces from now on. Pure nostalgia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I remember white sauce being used with many vegetables such as corn, peas, mixed vegetables, lima beans, etc. Also, Moms would mix up a batch of white sauce and add canned vegetables for a quick vegetable soup. Chipped beef or fried hamburger was added to white sauce for gravy. Add a little salt and pepper to the white sauce and this recipe is perfect. Thanks for sharing a forgotten favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I added minced garlic, chicken bouillon (instead of salt), some poultry seasoning and a dash of paprika. We had it over pasta, steamed chicken and cauliflower. Yum. Thanks for posting a recipe so easy even I was able to follow it. (I tend to concoct, rather than cook.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I added a tea spoon of VEGETA Gourmay Stock yum. I made mine in a microwave jug on high; one minute stir, further 30 seconds it was done. Being an oldie on my own I tend to use the Microwave a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
My 1st time making a white sauce (bechamel) and this recipe made it so easy - thanks so much! And thanks to the reviewer who said to double it if making a whole box of penne. That is exactly what I did and it is indeed the perfect amount! :D Oh...I did add seasonings, namely salt, pepper, garlic powder, and dried parsley. And I was aiming for a mac & cheese style dish so I whisked in grated parmesan, romano, and fontinella cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
A great base for many dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epicurious_11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fall Creek, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This sauce was fantastic!! I live in Africa and was looking for something new to spice up pasta, but simple and easy for me to get basic ingredients. I sauteed fresh garlic,tomatoes, onions and sausage and added to the sauce. It was Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States