White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My first time doing white sauce! I was really scared that it wouldn't thicken, and at first it didn't. So I just added an additional tb. of flour and it got nice and creamy. From there I added salt and pepper and stirred in 1 cup of shredded mozzarella. The sauce got pretty thick so I then whisked in another 1/2 cup milk (I used skim, btw) and the consistency was perfect. I don't eat dairy, but everyone told me it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a great basic easy sauce that me and my daughter make often, with a few add-in such as grated cheeses and you got a nice tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Mom used to make this back in the 50's and mix tuna into it, serve over mashed potatoes or rice, even toast...I lost her notes and when I found it here I was so thrilled :) As delicious as ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is great!! I put it on my pasta with some Mediterranean oregano leaves and Mediterranean basil leaves and it taste great!!!! But you add your own spices and I'm sure it will be good!! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
perfect base for anything really... just have to season it appropriately. I threw in a splash or two of white wine... parmesan cheese, a fistful of pre-grated pizza cheese, some crack peppercorns, a block of frozen chopped spinach, garlic puree and some coarse salt.... but throw in what you like im sure it will still come out great! best of luck to everyone :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Easy and adaptable! Halved the recipe, added garlic, white wine, dijon mustard and pepper and served over steak tips--delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Supremely inexpensive and easy to make. It is so versatile that you can add cheese or onion or pasta or bacon or chicken or tomato or all of the above and you can't go wrong. Next time I want to add butternut squash and cardamon for a fall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great basic recipe. I substituted whole wheat flour instead of the white so my "white sauce" was more of a light beige-ish sauce but the taste was still great. Served it over pasta with salmon and it was the perfect side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Tasted good! I doubled the recipe and used it over noodles. Added extra milk, ground pepper, dried basil and parmesan cheese. My 2 year old grandson loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu, Philippines
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great base sauce!! I added Garlic and parmesan. Great over noodles and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States