White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Perfect starter sauce! I made mac and cheese by adding some colby jack and cheddar cheese. I'll use this easy recipe from the rest of my life, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This sauce is wonderful! It is a great base :) I added a crushed garlic clove, basil, parsley, pepper, salt, and a bit of parmesean cheese, like suggested. I then mixed it with pasta and it was a wonderfully cheesy dinner! I also use this basic recipe with margarine instead of butter and soy milk- 1/2 as much) as a substitute for cheese in quiches when I cook non-dairy; i just cook it down until it is a thick consistency. It tastes amazing and has wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Tonight I was cooking carrots for dinner and remembered my mom making a white sauce for them. Google brought me to this simple recipe. It was EXACTLY as I remembered it... we put it on top of a serving of cooked carrots, and of course add salt. I cannot wait to try some variations of this base sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
super simple for my first white sauce. i added some mozzarella, feta, pepper, bits of bacon, and oregano. it is freakishly fast to make, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was a great base recipe. I added garlic and cheddar for a yummy mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
this was an old family receipe of ours as well. I could only find it in my moms old receipe book that is stained with butter and flour. lol. thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
yes, left as is, it is bland, but I do agree with other reviewers, this is a wonderful base to add your own seasonings to...I used different cheeses to create a cheese sauce with a little bite for my kids veggies...I am keeping this recipe to use again later and experiment with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The trick is getting a thick and smooth sauce without the flour lumps next time I'll try the "pre-mixing flour with water" trick... Thanks this is a great base you could work alot of magic with this sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This sauce is AWESOME! Who knew that so few ingredients could make so much food! I doubled the recipe which resulted in an absolutely perfect ratio of sauce to one box of Penne Pasta for mac n'cheese (added an 8oz bag of shredded cheese to the mixture). I will absolutely keep this as a go, on hand recipe! Thanks CJO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States