White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great sauce! We added bacon, garlic and parmesan cheese and spread it over spegetti noodles. Huge hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I have to be the worst cook in the world, and I made this! It was great - I added sharp cheddar, salt, pepper, garlic, and cubed chicken. Served it over pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Perfect starter sauce! I made mac and cheese by adding some colby jack and cheddar cheese. I'll use this easy recipe from the rest of my life, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This sauce is wonderful! It is a great base :) I added a crushed garlic clove, basil, parsley, pepper, salt, and a bit of parmesean cheese, like suggested. I then mixed it with pasta and it was a wonderfully cheesy dinner! I also use this basic recipe with margarine instead of butter and soy milk- 1/2 as much) as a substitute for cheese in quiches when I cook non-dairy; i just cook it down until it is a thick consistency. It tastes amazing and has wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Tonight I was cooking carrots for dinner and remembered my mom making a white sauce for them. Google brought me to this simple recipe. It was EXACTLY as I remembered it... we put it on top of a serving of cooked carrots, and of course add salt. I cannot wait to try some variations of this base sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
super simple for my first white sauce. i added some mozzarella, feta, pepper, bits of bacon, and oregano. it is freakishly fast to make, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was a great base recipe. I added garlic and cheddar for a yummy mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
this was an old family receipe of ours as well. I could only find it in my moms old receipe book that is stained with butter and flour. lol. thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
yes, left as is, it is bland, but I do agree with other reviewers, this is a wonderful base to add your own seasonings to...I used different cheeses to create a cheese sauce with a little bite for my kids veggies...I am keeping this recipe to use again later and experiment with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB

Displaying results 51-60 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States