White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe saved my bacon! I had put together a chicken and green chili casserole but it came out dry. I used this white sauce as a base and then mixed in some diced jalepenos and chicken broth- voila! The casserole was saved. The great thing about this sauce is it makes a good "base" and you can add things to it from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was a great sauce base for my pasta primavera. I doubled it to feed my family. I will post my recipe for Chicken pasta primavera. Thanks for sharing your white sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Use a stainless steel pan and stir with a steel spatula. This allows you to cover more surface area vs using a spoon and results in less likely to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is great on pasta!! I used 1 1/2 cups milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is great sauce base for creamed chipped beef and salmon. For the salmon I add a bit of dill and some peas, but for the SOS it is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wow did this bring back memories. I just used a double recipe in Turkey pot pie and it was perfect. I just add kosher salt and white pepper to taste. Thanks for the reminder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I love how simple this recipe is. Super easy and fast. I added a little garlic salt and some pepper because it was a little bland. otherwise perfect! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I also made this in "Home Ec" many many moons ago & it is a PERFECT beginner sauce! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe & bring me back to a time in my cooking history when things were simple but GOOD! I have LOTS of plans for this recipe! Lots! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gothess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I use this sauce for scalloped potates and add whatever spices I like it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ash, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Terrific and easy..I added worstechire sauce and chipped beef...super recipe thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States