White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Tonight I was cooking carrots for dinner and remembered my mom making a white sauce for them. Google brought me to this simple recipe. It was EXACTLY as I remembered it... we put it on top of a serving of cooked carrots, and of course add salt. I cannot wait to try some variations of this base sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
super simple for my first white sauce. i added some mozzarella, feta, pepper, bits of bacon, and oregano. it is freakishly fast to make, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was a great base recipe. I added garlic and cheddar for a yummy mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
this was an old family receipe of ours as well. I could only find it in my moms old receipe book that is stained with butter and flour. lol. thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
yes, left as is, it is bland, but I do agree with other reviewers, this is a wonderful base to add your own seasonings to...I used different cheeses to create a cheese sauce with a little bite for my kids veggies...I am keeping this recipe to use again later and experiment with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The trick is getting a thick and smooth sauce without the flour lumps next time I'll try the "pre-mixing flour with water" trick... Thanks this is a great base you could work alot of magic with this sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This sauce is AWESOME! Who knew that so few ingredients could make so much food! I doubled the recipe which resulted in an absolutely perfect ratio of sauce to one box of Penne Pasta for mac n'cheese (added an 8oz bag of shredded cheese to the mixture). I will absolutely keep this as a go, on hand recipe! Thanks CJO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I found this sauce super easy to make and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustlamp Dustlamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Great base white sauce. I use it for my Chicken Pot Pie and add 1 tablespoon of curry and proceed as usual. I'm making Mac & Cheese for a party Sunday and am going to use this white sauce as a base for that. As noted in many reviews, it can be used for lots of recipes and is good to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicklet
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States