White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I agree with another poster, this is a MUST know, teach your children this one! It is the basic elements and you build on it anyway you like...you will never buy this again from a store!I have added all sorts of yummy spices, seasonings and goodies to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This needed a lot of fresh chopped basil and parsley for flavor. Topped with grated parmesan and asiago cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Great sauce and perfect to combine with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Fabulous flavor and texture! Wonderful basic white sauce. I added a pinch of salt and pepper and a dash of chicken bullion powder. I served mine over steamed veggies (zucchini, summer squash, mushrooms, and onion) and rice. Delicious! It was so good I was spooning it all on it's own before the veggies had finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Oh my goodness, this white sauce base was sooooo easy. I had always thought white sauce was very difficult and it would get lumpy etc. This was perfect!!! I would normally use cream, yet this was much healthier with milk. Thanks sooo much for sharing. This is a FAB FAB base. I added salt, pepper, garlic, mixed dry herbs and a cup of cheese, and made it into the yummiest cheese sauce. Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made mac-n-cheese that turned out a little dry, but I added this sauce (it took about a minute to make), and all is well! thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have used this recipe for many years (about 50) and I learned how to make it from my mother, so it's been our family for a long time. I make a thinner sauce sometimes and use it for a cream soup base. It's a recipe that every child needs to learn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
For a nice sauce over fish, instead of milk use half 10% cream and half chicken stock. Sprinkle in some dill and fresh ground pepper. My husband is gluten intolerant, so I substitute potato flour for the wheat flour and it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Versatile base. Love to add some Parmesan, Romano, and garlic for an alfredo sauce, or some chipotle tabasco and some smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is an incredible base for white sauce. Plus, it's much less expensive than store bought sauce. I added mozzerella cheese, salt, and pepper and had a delicious sauce that my husband loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States