White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Excellent !! Just the basic sauce for old fashioned white sauce. Used it today as my basis for mac-n-cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jojaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was such an easy recipe!!! I added 2 tablespoons of parmesan cheese after mixing the flour and butter. After the sauce was thickened I added broccoli cuts and then served this over noodles. My family loved this quick and different meal of choice! My 1 year old will not eat broccoli but after mixing it with the sauce, he ate it all... Definantly a new hit for our busy on the go lives..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
a good starting point for a sauce, then get to season however you wish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
It`s so nice to have some of the most basic recipes posted on this site. I am a mechanic that actually loves to cook but I am not that adventurous and do not usually try to make anything without a recipe. This sauce takes me back some 40 years ago when my Mother would make me creamed peas on toast, just add a can of peas to sauce and cover a slice of toast with it. Eat it with a knife and fork, delicious. Thanks CJO for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph Carson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I agree with another poster, this is a MUST know, teach your children this one! It is the basic elements and you build on it anyway you like...you will never buy this again from a store!I have added all sorts of yummy spices, seasonings and goodies to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This needed a lot of fresh chopped basil and parsley for flavor. Topped with grated parmesan and asiago cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Great sauce and perfect to combine with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Fabulous flavor and texture! Wonderful basic white sauce. I added a pinch of salt and pepper and a dash of chicken bullion powder. I served mine over steamed veggies (zucchini, summer squash, mushrooms, and onion) and rice. Delicious! It was so good I was spooning it all on it's own before the veggies had finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Oh my goodness, this white sauce base was sooooo easy. I had always thought white sauce was very difficult and it would get lumpy etc. This was perfect!!! I would normally use cream, yet this was much healthier with milk. Thanks sooo much for sharing. This is a FAB FAB base. I added salt, pepper, garlic, mixed dry herbs and a cup of cheese, and made it into the yummiest cheese sauce. Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made mac-n-cheese that turned out a little dry, but I added this sauce (it took about a minute to make), and all is well! thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 161-170 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States