White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have used this recipe for many years (about 50) and I learned how to make it from my mother, so it's been our family for a long time. I make a thinner sauce sometimes and use it for a cream soup base. It's a recipe that every child needs to learn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
For a nice sauce over fish, instead of milk use half 10% cream and half chicken stock. Sprinkle in some dill and fresh ground pepper. My husband is gluten intolerant, so I substitute potato flour for the wheat flour and it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Versatile base. Love to add some Parmesan, Romano, and garlic for an alfredo sauce, or some chipotle tabasco and some smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is an incredible base for white sauce. Plus, it's much less expensive than store bought sauce. I added mozzerella cheese, salt, and pepper and had a delicious sauce that my husband loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Very good, basic white sauce. I added cheddar cheese, salt and freshly ground pepper and tossed it over bowtie pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Basic, simple, easy, the only white sauce i use..... to make a fantastic cheese sauce, I just add mustard and cheese to taste just before it begins to thicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Such a simple recipe! I made it once and then came home and made it again with the ingredients from my head. It definitely needs a little peppercorn spice or something of the likes... It hardly has any flavor at all as given in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This sauce is great and a good base sauce. Add a pinch of nutmeg to send it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Langwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very nice white sauce. My kids always like "red" sauce on their sphagetti but this time they said they loved the "white sauce". The texture is just perfect for the seashell pasta. I didn't even add salt and it tasted great. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABSCHICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was excellent! I added a little minced garlic, salt and pepper and poured it over my baked stuffed chicken. Yummy! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States