White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Mom used to make this back in the 50's and mix tuna into it, serve over mashed potatoes or rice, even toast...I lost her notes and when I found it here I was so thrilled :) As delicious as ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is great!! I put it on my pasta with some Mediterranean oregano leaves and Mediterranean basil leaves and it taste great!!!! But you add your own spices and I'm sure it will be good!! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
perfect base for anything really... just have to season it appropriately. I threw in a splash or two of white wine... parmesan cheese, a fistful of pre-grated pizza cheese, some crack peppercorns, a block of frozen chopped spinach, garlic puree and some coarse salt.... but throw in what you like im sure it will still come out great! best of luck to everyone :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Easy and adaptable! Halved the recipe, added garlic, white wine, dijon mustard and pepper and served over steak tips--delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Supremely inexpensive and easy to make. It is so versatile that you can add cheese or onion or pasta or bacon or chicken or tomato or all of the above and you can't go wrong. Next time I want to add butternut squash and cardamon for a fall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great basic recipe. I substituted whole wheat flour instead of the white so my "white sauce" was more of a light beige-ish sauce but the taste was still great. Served it over pasta with salmon and it was the perfect side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Tasted good! I doubled the recipe and used it over noodles. Added extra milk, ground pepper, dried basil and parmesan cheese. My 2 year old grandson loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu, Philippines
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great base sauce!! I added Garlic and parmesan. Great over noodles and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Made the perfect base for my experimental concauction that turned out GREAT! I added to this recipe 2 tbsp romano chese, a little bit of sprinkle chedar chese, some tomato sauce and a little dash of salt, I also added a little cracked peppercorn dressing....I had to use what I had available and it turned out to be a masterpiece better than ollive gardens creamy tomato sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Is a good base for a white sauce. I sauteed some finely diced shallots and garlic with the butter. Then I added a couple dashes of salt and balck pepper to the final product. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States