White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
So simple and is an amazing base to any sauce. I personally added some salt, pepper and maple breakfast sausage. Poured it over busciuts. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlyks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great recipe. Needed a simple base recipe to work off of :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy0610

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Nassau, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is the standard white sauce for use in other recipes. It needs nothing more. This is intended to be used in another recipe. It is classic cooking, and a sauce every cook should have in their recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Good base as others have noted. Paired it with the ravoili recipe and added chives garlic and parsley. Yum. We also make it with canola oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great base sauce...I just added italian seasoning, garlic powder and some parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
easy basic recipe. I added garlic butter sautied oyster mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Excellent and super easy base with endless possibilities. I added onion, garlic, baby peas, salt, and pepper after the milk. Tossed the pasta with the sauce and sprinkled in some pine nuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Simple, adaptable, perfect. I can't stand canned condensed soups, so whipping this super fast sauce up is a great alternative, and SO easy to customize. I normally add a little nutmeg, salt and pepper for a basic beschamel, but I've also added a spoonful of pesto for a flavorful twist in white lasagna. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I love this recipe. It's basic and allows the chef to add a variety of spices without compromising the maleability of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This basic sauce can be the start of cream soup also. Double or triple the recipe and add milk to get the desired soup consistency. Stir in any meat or vegetable and simmer until vegetables are tender. Season with salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, basil or whatever you like. It's cheap, tasty and easy to make. And you can be as creative as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States