White Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it many times. I also use it for a base for white clam sauce. I don't use the butter granules and I use better than boullion base (in the case of clam sauce I use clam base). Turns out wonderfully! Thank you for a great recipe that you can do so much with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen O'Connell Leontovich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Super easy to make and delicious. I added parm cheese to mine. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight, following the recipe exactly, and for what it is, I had to give it the full five stars. I boiled bow-tie pasta while I made the sauce, then in the last two minutes, put a bag of frozen veggies (broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower), then drained the pasta and veggies (after the last two minutes) and poured the sauce on top. My husband added some parmesan and said it was even better, but I thought it was good without, too. Easy, inexpensive, and ends up being a nice meatless main dish, and a great alternative to spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I love how this sauce is so versatile..... I did have to make a few changes, but they were because I didn't have some ingrediants & a personal prefrence I choose to only use 1c. water and 1c. milk... Thank you for sharing this, I will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This recipe nails the basic premise for a white sauce. I now use this recipe regularly as a base for many types of pasta sauces: italian-style cheese sauce, alfredo sauce, pesto cream sauce, cheddar sauce, and more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Wish I had this recipes years ago...just lovely with anything! Especially with italian meatballs over pasta...mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qtpie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent!!! I doubled the recipe to use with a smoked salmon pasta. I omitted the bouillon and granules - but added salt, pepper, and blackened redfish seasoning. I also used real butter. Will use this again - was super quick and super easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Easy and versatile. As a vegetarian, used faux chicken bouillons, added a little parmesan and red pepper flakes to an artichoke, mushroom & walnut pasta, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was super easy to make, I made it without the butter or chicken granules and just added some chicken stock. I also added two cloves of minced garlic to give it a bit of kick and the hubby loved it. Definitely a delicious go-to recipe when you have a little bit of time and nothing in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Really good. Sat lighter than a regular alfredo sauce, so I made this extra garlicky and used it instead. A little thin, but if you mix it in immediately after draining the pasta, the pasta will soak it up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States