White Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Super Tasty, I am going to eat this sauce with everything from now on for the rest of my life. I didn't have any butter granules and just skipped them, and also subbed corn starch instead of flour cuz I cant have wheat gluten. If it's even better with the butter granules....WOW. I also tried replacing some of the chicken boullion with curry powder, also extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This recipe break my cardinal rule of only making recipes with LOTS of 4/5 stars. I needed a simple white sauce recipe that I had all of the ingredient on hand for (ruling out almost all of the others since I didn't have cream or half and half) so I gave this a shot. I have to say it was pretty good. I did not have any butter-flavored granules so I did add a smidge more butter but I didn't feel it was missing anything. I did add a little extra flour than stated since I was having thickening problems but, in the end, with a little bit of salt and pepper, it was a nice, simple white sauce that is very good as is or could be gussied up if being served over more than just pasta. Sometimes risks do pay off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was a great recipe! We used it on chees ravioli. We didn't have any butter granules, so we skipped it. We we added a few shakes of garlic powder and it was wonderful. Everyone in the family liked it. So simple and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a while - something to try in place of the Knorr packages. I can make this with things I almost always have on hand. I don't know what butter granules are so omitted those and used broth instead of boullion. Because of that I had to add a little salt and I added granulated garlic. I look forward to playing with this a little to add some more flavor (pesto, sun dried tomatoes, etc). Served over bow tie pasta with peas and grilled chicken. Admittedly, most of the flavor in the dish came from the chicken, but it was still an easy, easy dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly, using Butter Buds sprinkles (found in the spice aisle...the kind you might shake on popcorn) and it was delish! I was worried that it would taste like "fake" butter (from the Butter Buds) but it had a wonderful buttery, creamy taste! I'm impressed that something so simple could taste so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My family and I enjoyed this with our gnocchi. Thank you I wasn't in the mood for red sauce and this was a easy and grest recipe. I didn't have the butter granules and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
very easy to make, but if your using it for the main flavor of your pasta dish- try adding some strong cheese flavor like asiago. Alone it's pretty much gravy. Still very easy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammie R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
this was very good. I used it as a base sauce for turkey tettrazini. added parmasian cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
So yummy yet so simple! I love it with veggies and bow tie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abcdhahs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Was extremely easy to make and didn't taste floury at all, as the case can be with roux-thickened sauces. I added a clove of chopped fresh garlic to the melted butter and cooked it for a few minutes before blending in the flour (but it may have been a little too much because it was quite strong). The only thing that could have made it better was if it stuck better to the noodles I mixed it with, but the next day it was the perfect consistency and tasted just as good reheated. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States