White Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but added cheese at the end due to lack of real flavor in the sauce. I agree with a previous reviewer that it was all too similar to gravy. I also had a hard time getting it to thicken correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Easy and quick. I used bouillon cubes and regular margarine (not the buds). I also added a little Parmesan cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
seriously easy and delicious. I did add some garlic granules and used real butter instead of margarine. I tossed it with penne pasta, shrimp and some shredded parmesan cheese. I made a separate bowl for my son and tossed a bit of pesto into it at his request and that was good, too. This is a great base sauce for many variations and additions. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Was extremely easy to make and didn't taste floury at all, as the case can be with roux-thickened sauces. I added a clove of chopped fresh garlic to the melted butter and cooked it for a few minutes before blending in the flour (but it may have been a little too much because it was quite strong). The only thing that could have made it better was if it stuck better to the noodles I mixed it with, but the next day it was the perfect consistency and tasted just as good reheated. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
So yummy yet so simple! I love it with veggies and bow tie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abcdhahs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
this was very good. I used it as a base sauce for turkey tettrazini. added parmasian cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
very easy to make, but if your using it for the main flavor of your pasta dish- try adding some strong cheese flavor like asiago. Alone it's pretty much gravy. Still very easy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammie R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My family and I enjoyed this with our gnocchi. Thank you I wasn't in the mood for red sauce and this was a easy and grest recipe. I didn't have the butter granules and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly, using Butter Buds sprinkles (found in the spice aisle...the kind you might shake on popcorn) and it was delish! I was worried that it would taste like "fake" butter (from the Butter Buds) but it had a wonderful buttery, creamy taste! I'm impressed that something so simple could taste so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a while - something to try in place of the Knorr packages. I can make this with things I almost always have on hand. I don't know what butter granules are so omitted those and used broth instead of boullion. Because of that I had to add a little salt and I added granulated garlic. I look forward to playing with this a little to add some more flavor (pesto, sun dried tomatoes, etc). Served over bow tie pasta with peas and grilled chicken. Admittedly, most of the flavor in the dish came from the chicken, but it was still an easy, easy dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States