White Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Made as directed, except I added Parmesan cheese and garlic powder, would have been very bland without them. Sauce seemed a bit thin, so I added a slurry of cornstarch, but then it was too thick! So if it seems too thin, it's probably not. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamma
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
It was delicious, i was looking for an easy to make white sauce to add to my pasta, even my picky eater little toddler love it. When i was making the sauce i added parsley, oregano, and basil with powder garlic and onion since i dint have butter-flavored granules, this gave it an italian taste, i added grilled chicken that i grill with butter with a pinch of rosemary, on separate pan i added veggies squash, Zunis, broccoli, dice tomatoes sautéed it with butter for 3minutes then i added the bow tie pasta, veggies, chicken and sauce in a big sauce pan, then ready to serve ready to serve, it was delicious and also look great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe it was a hit. I mixed it with some fresh veggies (broccoli, chicken pieces, mushrooms, carrots and green peppers.) I added to the sauce cheese, garlic ,salt and pepper. It was so good and served 6 people and I didn't use the butter-flavored granules. I also made my own home made chicken broth. I'm very impresed, but how did you figure it only would take 10 minutes? Took much longer than that for it to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I was looking for an alfredo-ish sauce to serve with shrimp, but don't like using a lot of cream, so this recipe was a great start. Used base recipe, but like others, I altered it to what I had on-hand. I browned flour in butter, added garlic, then milk and Lawry's seasoning salt, and wisked over heat for several minutes, until thickened. Once there, turned off heat and added mozarella and splash of white wine. I stirred in my shrimp scampi, and tossed it with pasta. Served with steamed broccoli. My 3 kids each had 3 helpings, with oohs and ahhs all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roozoonoomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I wanted something a little less like Thanksgiving gravy and a little more like Alfredo sauce, so my alterations are as follows: Replace the margarine with butter and increase to 3 tablespoons. Increase the flour to 1/4 cup. Omit the butter granules. Decrease the chicken granules (or bullion) to 2 teaspoons. For liquid, use no water. Instead, use 2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half & half. Add some garlic and 1/2 cup shaved Parmesan. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a very good white pasta sauce. I customized it by adding the following spices to taste: red pepper flakes, Emeril's "Original Essence" and Trader Joe's "21 Seasoning Salute". The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enjoyfinewines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very delicious sauce! A little thin, but it still tasted delicious on fettucini and any other pasta as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very easy and light. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I think this recipe was good but not creamy enough for me. I will use all milk and no water in the next round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this recipe for my husband. He loved it. The only ingredient I did not use was flour. I added a little onion and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States