White Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I loved this sauce!! I needed something quick and basic -I also wanted something a bit healthier than traditional white sauces- this was perfect! My changes: I used 1% milk, omitted the butter granules (don't use them), and added a lot of chopped fresh herbs and powered garlic. It took a bit longer than I expected to thicken but it was worth the wait. My family loved it and it's a great base recipe that's easy to add seasonings to. I plan on using it in baked dishes and it's also a good dipping sauce for bread. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
AS IS, this is a 2 star recipe. BUT! to give it some flavor along with the flour, REAL butter and water I added 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 milk. 1/2 c. Parm. cheese, garlic(i like to use a lot...here i used 4 cloves), 1 tsp. thyme, 1 tsp. rosemary, chicken bullion(1 tsp/cup of liquid), montreal steak seasoning and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes(more or less for desired heat). I used this on whole wheat spiral pasta and grilled chicken with sauteed red peepers, carrots and zuccini (julienned). My kids LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
IT was ok, but it didn't have much flavor. I had to add lots of salt and lime juice on top of my linguine to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe was so awesome, we made it and it was sooooo good.Im so glad I found it. We mix it with mussels, squid and mushrooms. Yummo!! and we loved that its not heavy like other white sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chengy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Good. Second time I was missing ingredients... so I used real butter, no buds, chicken stock, and 2% milk. Also spiced it up with sauteed (sp?) garlic and onion. MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trtlflwrs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I just deleted my former favourite white sauce recipe! It was really that good... and i didnt even have the butter granules. Love it, love it, love it! This is my new go to, thank you Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Okay, so I was watching Rachel Ray on TV and got the idea to do a pasta with some mushrooms etc. However, I am prego and for some reason Alfredo sauce sounds awful! So I wanted a white sauce. I found this recipe and I am so glad I did. Here are the minor alterations that I made: Instead of a cup of milk I added 1/2 cup of cream. I wanted a rich sauce and cream did that! I also added some dried thyme. I sauted mushrooms, garlic, and shallots. Then added 1/4 cup chicken broth and diced fresh tomato. When the liquid was cooked out, I added the pasta, mixed it all up and then added the white sauce. AMAZING!!! This Sauce is very versatile. Add different spices depending on the theme of your meal. Thanks for the recipe. It is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was a life saver!!! It was really good and easy to make. I added garlic , curry and little more flour. I'm a vegetarian so I used veg. bouillon and almond milk. It was awesome, I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EZstuff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
WOW! This is a really good basic white sauce that you can add pretty much anything to. I added salt (I didn't see it on the ingredient list but it should have it), no poultry boullion cubes (didn't have any) but about 1/2 tablespoon poultry seasoning (this added a really nice flavor, so I'd def include this) and I added garlic to taste. I didn't have any butter granules so I didn't include them. I was gonna use my leftover shrimp so I also added about 1/4 cup parmesian cheese and OH MY this turned out so well. 5 stars for a basic white sauce that you can doctor up to your hearts content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made this sauce and then put it on a pizza with italian sausage and onions. It was pretty good! A little on the salty side, though, but that could be because of the sausage. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States