White Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Quick and easy. I loved that it didn't require cream like so many other white sauces. I used a bouillon cube instead of the granules and I added parmesian cheese and garlic powder. Pretty good taste with the modifications made, would have been pretty bland without them. Also it didn't make enough for me, I like things really saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
simply delicious ! i love the flavor that the bouillon adds. per some other reviews - i also added about 3/4 c of cheddar cheese and some garlic. this is definitely going into regular rotation !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Just made this and it was delish. I used real butter, made a roux with the flour and added lemon juice and some mushrooms I sauteed with shallot and garlic in butter. I topped mine off with extra sharp white cheddar. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
doubled the recipe, didn't use the 'buds', used 3 cups milk, 1 1/2 cups water. Added some minced garlic to the melted margarine and sauteed for bit before adding the flour, etc. EXCELLENT! My family 3 men, 1 teenager, and myself all loved it. Mixed it with bow-tie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious! I used 3 TBS butter and added about 3 cloves minced garlic, and used 3 bouillon cubes as suggested by another reviewer (did not have butter granules. ) I needed a light tasting sauce to top butternut squash ravioli. This was perfect! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I came across this for a very basic, fuss-free, no-frills white sauce for pasta that I can make with very basic ingredients from the kitchen- and this did the job pretty decently. The difference is that I used real butter, normal wheat flour, half a knorr's chicken cube, 6 cloves of finely chopped garlic and generic rehydrated powdered milk. I used exactly the same amounts as stated, and added the garlic near the end (after all the whisking and stirring and seasoning). Overall a fairly decent recipe that is easily manipulated by adding different flavours and herbs to suit the need of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This sauce WAS easy to make, and had a decent flavor, but It wasn't the kind of sauce I was looking for. Hubby doesn't want me to make it again, but it did make for an easy sauce over pasta. I would eat it again, if it were just me, and I wanted something simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
When I read this, I thought "yeah, sure...a simple white sauce that will be good on pasta - whatever." Boy was I WRONG! This is F A N T A S T I C!!!!! Super easy - used real butter, 3 cubes of bouillon and added some parm chz and garlic. Grilled some chicken and tossed in with rotini pasta and this FABULOUS sauce - instant favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by highcountryeats

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
this was really good. i just used one cup of water and added a whole cube of the bouillion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Added my pesto, and voila! Delisicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Rice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States