White Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Quick and easy recipe, a good base. The bullion cube adds a unique flavor but I wanted a little more so I added a clove of garlic, pinch of salt, little basil, used heavy whipping cream instead of milk and black instead of white pepper and poured it over bow tie pasta. My pickiest eater who never asks for seconds on any kind of pasta loved it and had seconds. I added raw diced yellow bell pepper to my individual serving and thought it added a nice flavor. So many possibilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was easy to prepare and delicious! My husband and (picky) kids loved it! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I started to laugh when I read the ingredients for this sauce recipe, when suddenly I remembered that this was the basically the same sauce my mother made for me and my siblings, and by me for my grandchildren. My mother 96 year old mother tells me that her mother fixed the same thing for her and her older siblings, she fixed it mainly because "who want's to clean up after children eating pasta with red sauce"! I fixed it for my grandchildren when they would only eat "white food" (we had three grandchildren who not eat any food with color....especially green). Here's how I made it for four children: 2 Tbs Butter, 2 level TBS Flour, 1 teas Garlic powder, 3/4 C. Cream, 3/4 C. Pasta Water. Salt and Pepper to taste. My mother used to add various herbs from time to time, I remember fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I didnt have milk on hand so I used sour cream and added some garlic salt. It was amazing and super easy to make. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
EXTREMELY bland. I really was not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Very good recipe for a simple white that my kids love. I add a few table spoons of parm ar the end - fresh or Kraft. Great for a quick meal after work. Add chicken, mushrooms, broccoli... whatever is in your pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Not the best. Not the worst. Quick sauce for dinner in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
So easy to make, and my kids LOVED IT!! Definitely a recipe to save. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. So bland--but the consistency is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The sauce really has no taste. I should have focused on the recipe before I started making it, because I would have realized it was really just butter, margarine and flour with a hint of milk. Dairy sauce! I am not using this recipe again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States