White Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Wow! This one's a keeper! I primarily followed the recipe, but made the following modifications: 1. skipped the cognac and used only peach schnapps and 1 Black Box sauvignon blanc wine (equals 4 bottles). 2. Added 6 sliced fresh peaches, 2 sliced ripe mangoes, 2 pints of strawberries, 2 sliced oranges, and 2 sliced lemons. Put mixture evenly in 2 covered pitchers and let it sit in fridge for 2 days, stirring occasionally. Turned a beautiful light peachy/pink color. Served over ice in individual glasses, topped off with gingerale (3/4 sangria, 1/4 gingerale) according to individual taste in each glass. (No punch bowl) Enough for several days of drinking, so don't dilute with gingerale until serving time. I even drank a glass on day 3 without any gingerale and it was amazingly good. Unbelievably delicious! Tasted even better on the third day...and the boozy soaked fruit was YUMMY to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe! Served it at a bridal shower and it was a real hit. I did add red raspberries just because they looked so pretty. Next time I will make double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This was a HUGH hit at my Bunco gathering! I ran out of the punch. I used only three bottles at first then added the four bottle as the punch dwindled down. I used only two oranges, it was plenty. This is a KEEPER!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Made this for a Shakespeare in the Glen picnic and it was a huge hit. I took the previous reviewers advice and omitted the white sugar entirely. I did add sliced strawberries as they were lovely and in peak season and I thought it made the sangria that much more beautiful but I guess it did make it not strictly "white" anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I made this for a party, and people liked it, but didnt' rave over it. It was VERY sweet with the Ginger Ale. I think I would have liked it a lot better without the Ginger Ale. But, I think this is a good drink for people that like super sweet fruity drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Giddings, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was a very, very good sangria - numerous compliments from our guests. The secret to any good sangria relies less on the ingredients than it does one very important factor - TIME! When I make any sangria I usually make it the night before the party (or first thing the morning of). The longer you allow the fruits and liquids sit the better flavor you have! (Stir occasionally!) Just remember your ginger ale (or whatever soda you add) is to be mixed in just before serving. Time is one ingredient any good sangria simply cannot do without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Fantastic. There were only 5 people who drank this at the cook out and the entire gallon was gone. everyone loved it. it does creep up on you. I used a bit less sugar, natural sugar cane, not white sugar, it was all i had. I also used a LOT more fruit. I used everything i had in the house, mangoes, apricots, plums, lemons and peaches. FANTASTIC I will make this ALL the time. Thought i would update this.. i just made it a second time for a friend who had never heard of Sangria. She left with the recipe. She is hooked and has already made it for a friend. FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Amazing! I made it for a picnic last weekend and got rave reviews from everyone. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I made this for a party and it was a huge hit. People kept saying they usually didn't like sangria or white sangria and they liked this. I love white sangria because drinks always get spilled, but white doesn't stain. I followed some of the advice and left the sugar out - it was definitely sweet enough. I also loaded up on the fruit - nectarines, grapes, oranges, mangos...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is absolutely the best! It disappeared from my party and has been the hit of several of my sister's parties!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States