White Russian Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Used 1/2 regular & 1/2 fat-free cream cheese, Kahlua for the coffee liqueur, and a regular 9x13 pan. Brownie was very thick and hard to stir/pour. I forgot to brush additional Kahlua on top afterwards but it still tasted good...even better when heated and served with vanilla ice cream! I thought the brownie layer looked thinner than the cream cheese layer so I'll perhaps double up on the brownie next time. Remember to wait until the brownie cools to cut. Wiping the knife with a damp cloth after each cut will prevent brownie from sticking to the knife and making a mess. Brownies became softer and more flavorful after storing in an airtight container overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
FANTASTIC after I followed the suggestions of halving the cream cheese filling. I even baked this in a 8x12 cake pan and it turned out great after 35 minutes in the oven. Even though it was hard to spread, I felt that it was truly a brownie's thickness when done that way. I was very satisfied. The only different thing I did the second time I made these was increase the amount of vodka in the chocolate mixture by about 3 Tablespoons, since I felt that it was a little weak in the alcoholic taste. Finally, I heavily recommend oiling the pan well. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I actually enjoyed this brownie. However, I am a health nut and felt uncomfortable serving a dessert with almost 500 calories per serving. So instead of sugar, I substituted Splenda. I also used fat free cream cheese instead of full fat cream cheese. I also used only 1/2 pound of cream cheese and cut the amount of vodka in half. Very delicious and a much healthier version!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I give this 4 stars, since I made a mistake and forgot to add the baking powder...however the result was fantastic! A very moist and chewy brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I used the full 16 oz of cream cheese, but subbed milk for the vodka. The cream cheese layer was just okay, but the brownie layer really was lacking in flavor. Brushing the top with the kahlua helped a these a lot, but 4 of 5 in my household gave these brownies a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Tips: Bake at 350 for 40 minutes and the brownies will be perfectly done. Ease up on the vodca in the cream cheese. Once you have the layers in place use a knife to swirl all three together, then detail the top with a toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Mmmm...Great moist brownies. I halfed the cream cheese like recommended by others but next time may make the full amount as I thought that was the best part of the recipe. The only problem was the cooking time. Like others have said before, after the recommended cooking time, the outside was cooked while the middle was gooey. I made a "ring" of foil (like when cooking pie crusts in the oven to prevent the edges from burning) and covered the cooked outside portion (exposing the uncooked portions) and put back in the oven, checking continuously until cooked. Although it was a pain, the results were fantastic. The taste of the chocolate and cream cheese was similar to black-bottomed cupcakes my mom always used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALYSTA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Very good-I sprinkled swirled chocolate chips on top...a little too much cream cheese...Definitely cook for longer than it says, though!! I had to throw it back in after taking it out. Could be a little more chocolate-y, too. Overall a big crown pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
For some reason I tend to produce disastrous brownies time after time. These were quite good though - the bits I cut from the edges I mean, as I baked for 35 minutes and it wasn't enough at all. I decreased the cream cheese layer by half and just added all the coffee liqueur to the batter - very nice flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Russian Cocktail

See how to make a creamy, coffee-flavored vodka cocktail.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States