White Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I used this as a topping for enchiladas. I used Colby Jack cheese instead of Pepper Jack because it's what I had on hand. It turned out perfectly! Everyone wanted more! Thank you for a great recipe that I can easily create for Mexican night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalBay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used Cheddar cheese instead of the pepperjack. This turned out smooth and creamy! Depending on your tastes, it may need a little salt, but it is good as-is to me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elcho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My son gives it 10 stars! He literally licked the bowl! I added a can of chopped green chilies and about 1 TBSP of cumin when adding the cheese to melt. I got huge hugs for this one. THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very delicious. I used this sauce to make chili cheese fries! The pepper jack sauce gave it more of a kick than if I would have used regular cheddar. We all loved it here! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
My family love it and rate it waaaaay better than any canned or jarred nacho cheese sauce. Instead of pepperjack cheese, I use whatever aged cheese I have on hand (usually cheddar or cheddar/monterey jack blend) and add one 5 - 7oz can of mild, diced, green chiles to give it that great, authentic, slightly spicy, nacho taste. This is a great base recipe for any cheese sauce. There is room for some leeway in the recipe and is pretty hard to mess up so besides ease and taste, flexibility earns this recipe 5 stars. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is great! I use sharp cheddar instead of pepperjack to make it not spicy for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this tonight with cheddar cheese and it was great! It was a bit grainym but I'm sure that was my fault. Will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I love the flavor of this sauce. Since I was making it for young ones, I used half pepper jack and half Monterey Jack cheeses. When I make it for myself, I'll use all pepper jack. I made this for Ore-Ida's Veggie Totchos, and it was perfect! I used the recipe for Self-Rising Flour on this site, cutting it down to 1/4 cup. I'd like to use this as a base for pizza sometime. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is close to the one I make, but I use real butter. I have slightly different measurements, and I use extra seasonings, but the base here is fine. This is the basic way to make a cheese sauce for nachos, macaroni and cheese, au gratin potatoes, etc. There is nothing wrong with the method--if it didn't work for you, you need to practice more :) *Note: A flour-y flavor means you didn't cook it long enough. It has nothing to do with the ratio of ingredients listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've been making this for years. My family loves it. I don't really measure anything, just make a white sauce and add the cheese. Like gravey, it can be a chanllenge to master this. I never tried it until I got the gravey down to a science. If the white sauce doesn't look right, throw it out before you add the cheese. You can always start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fountain, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States