White Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is close to the one I make, but I use real butter. I have slightly different measurements, and I use extra seasonings, but the base here is fine. This is the basic way to make a cheese sauce for nachos, macaroni and cheese, au gratin potatoes, etc. There is nothing wrong with the method--if it didn't work for you, you need to practice more :) *Note: A flour-y flavor means you didn't cook it long enough. It has nothing to do with the ratio of ingredients listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because it has a good base. I've made this several times, playing with the ingredients each time. I've found that if you use 1 tbsp cornstarch and 1 tbsp self rising flour, it doesn't give as much of the overpowering flour taste. Also, USE A GOOD DELI PEPPER JACK, if you get the prepackaged stuff off the cold shelf at the store, it will NOT work. It doesn't melt well and will not give you the texture you want. I usually add a little extra cheese, asadero or fresco. Gives it a little extra. I haven't perfected it yet, but I'm still trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I recently tried this in an attempt to recreate the white nacho cheese we get from a nearby Mexican restaurant. This was closer than I've ever been but still, no cigar. The consistancy was good but I thought the flavor was just not what I was looking for - kind of bland, even though the cheese was spicy. Also, I could taste the flour in the cheese sauce. Altogether, it wasn't bad but I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is OK but if you go to a store that sells to the public restaurant foods and get Land o Lakes white melting cheese in a big block and melt it over a double broiler with you adding milk til you get to the restaurant consistency you want you will be very happy.You can add chopped halapino's for extra kick but the restaurants if they make there's from scratch use that brand of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I used the deli pepper jack cheese like many had recommended. I also noticed that people thought that this tasted too bland. Adding a can of tomatoes and chiles (Rotel) brought more flavor. This also makes it taste a little bit more like restaurant cheese sauce at the local Mexican restaurants. My husband and I were very impressed. This is probably as good as we are going to get with a Mexican cheese dip. For another idea adding a box of frozen spinach (squeeze the juice out) would make a great espinaca dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used Cheddar cheese instead of the pepperjack. This turned out smooth and creamy! Depending on your tastes, it may need a little salt, but it is good as-is to me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elcho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
It a good and inexpensive recipe but what is missing is the asiago cheese and cumin. I found that cheese in the refrigerated section by the cream cheese at Wal-Mart. I think adding those to this will make it exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is a good easy recipe. The Pepperjack gives it just enough of a kick without being too spicy. To the comment above: The cheese dip that JOYBOWES is thinking of is made with Queso or Asada cheeses. They can be harder to find and they burn more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
My family love it and rate it waaaaay better than any canned or jarred nacho cheese sauce. Instead of pepperjack cheese, I use whatever aged cheese I have on hand (usually cheddar or cheddar/monterey jack blend) and add one 5 - 7oz can of mild, diced, green chiles to give it that great, authentic, slightly spicy, nacho taste. This is a great base recipe for any cheese sauce. There is room for some leeway in the recipe and is pretty hard to mess up so besides ease and taste, flexibility earns this recipe 5 stars. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was actually really good. I had this with nachos for dinner, trying to imitate the sauce at a Mexican restaurant I went to last weekend. It wasn't the same, but it was pretty good. I would make it again. I added an extra half cup of pepperjack cheese, and it still tasted a little bit bland, but not enough to really notice if you're eating it with chips. Not the best, but still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States