White Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I recently tried this in an attempt to recreate the white nacho cheese we get from a nearby Mexican restaurant. This was closer than I've ever been but still, no cigar. The consistancy was good but I thought the flavor was just not what I was looking for - kind of bland, even though the cheese was spicy. Also, I could taste the flour in the cheese sauce. Altogether, it wasn't bad but I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is a good easy recipe. The Pepperjack gives it just enough of a kick without being too spicy. To the comment above: The cheese dip that JOYBOWES is thinking of is made with Queso or Asada cheeses. They can be harder to find and they burn more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I put a little extra pepperjack and maybe a pinch more flour into this recipe. We used it as a sauce over chicken for chicken tacos, it worked wonderfully. Not so much for the chips--tasted too much of flour for us. Will use again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This recipe was just great for my Nachos. I added salt to the sauce to take away some of the bland taste and I also added Mozzarella cheese. Very good! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
this would never mix!!!. . .the milk was separated on the top and the cheese was in a clump on the bottom...i did everything exactly as described and nobody touched it! waste of ingredients in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was actually really good. I had this with nachos for dinner, trying to imitate the sauce at a Mexican restaurant I went to last weekend. It wasn't the same, but it was pretty good. I would make it again. I added an extra half cup of pepperjack cheese, and it still tasted a little bit bland, but not enough to really notice if you're eating it with chips. Not the best, but still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because it has a good base. I've made this several times, playing with the ingredients each time. I've found that if you use 1 tbsp cornstarch and 1 tbsp self rising flour, it doesn't give as much of the overpowering flour taste. Also, USE A GOOD DELI PEPPER JACK, if you get the prepackaged stuff off the cold shelf at the store, it will NOT work. It doesn't melt well and will not give you the texture you want. I usually add a little extra cheese, asadero or fresco. Gives it a little extra. I haven't perfected it yet, but I'm still trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I used the deli pepper jack cheese like many had recommended. I also noticed that people thought that this tasted too bland. Adding a can of tomatoes and chiles (Rotel) brought more flavor. This also makes it taste a little bit more like restaurant cheese sauce at the local Mexican restaurants. My husband and I were very impressed. This is probably as good as we are going to get with a Mexican cheese dip. For another idea adding a box of frozen spinach (squeeze the juice out) would make a great espinaca dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is the exact recipe (scaled down) that we used at a restaurant I worked at. I thought the pepper jack cheese would be interesting, but it was very bland. So the next time I opted for some queso cheese with peppers, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
this recipe was quite good. i followed it excatly the first time, but i made it to serve 2. not 4. I didn't have peppejack cheese. i used a mix of provolone, mozza and parmesan. the second time i added onion(half), hot peppers(1 habanero) and a little bit of garlic(2 cloves). next time i will add red pepper flakes and maybe some onion powder. it should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States