White Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading reviews saying the sauce tasted too starchy, I was a bit worried. My cheese selection at the market was a bit limited, so I ended up using 2 cups of prepackaged pepper jack, and a cup of fresh mozzarella. My sauce still tasted starchy, and I'm competent when making a roux. Next time I think I'll try using bacon drippings instead of butter to hopefully give the sauce a bit more taste, and maybe arrowroot since the cheese and milk will ensure the sauce maintains the color expected, and the arrowroot won't add any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This sauce was a bit bland but it seems like it has potential. We will thicken for a longer period of time next time and add some jalapeno peppers. Looking forward to the next attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've been making this for years. My family loves it. I don't really measure anything, just make a white sauce and add the cheese. Like gravey, it can be a chanllenge to master this. I never tried it until I got the gravey down to a science. If the white sauce doesn't look right, throw it out before you add the cheese. You can always start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fountain, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
It a good and inexpensive recipe but what is missing is the asiago cheese and cumin. I found that cheese in the refrigerated section by the cream cheese at Wal-Mart. I think adding those to this will make it exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Not sure what happened with mine, but it was tad lumpy. I put leftovers in the fridge, reheated it the following day, and it actually tasted BETTER and was more of a dip than something to pour over chips. I'd use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I have been trying to make cheese sauce like you get when you go out. I have tried a few recipes and am just not getting it. Maybe it's me or maybe it is the cheese I am using. I don't know. I will just have to keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very delicious. I used this sauce to make chili cheese fries! The pepper jack sauce gave it more of a kick than if I would have used regular cheddar. We all loved it here! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was really good! I spiced it up with diced pickled jalpenos. Next time I'll add some more spice to it. I will never use store bought cheese sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is close to the one I make, but I use real butter. I have slightly different measurements, and I use extra seasonings, but the base here is fine. This is the basic way to make a cheese sauce for nachos, macaroni and cheese, au gratin potatoes, etc. There is nothing wrong with the method--if it didn't work for you, you need to practice more :) *Note: A flour-y flavor means you didn't cook it long enough. It has nothing to do with the ratio of ingredients listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
It's ok for a base... Pretty bland with a slightly strange texture on its own. It was pretty good after I added salsa, hot sauce, and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States