White Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading reviews saying the sauce tasted too starchy, I was a bit worried. My cheese selection at the market was a bit limited, so I ended up using 2 cups of prepackaged pepper jack, and a cup of fresh mozzarella. My sauce still tasted starchy, and I'm competent when making a roux. Next time I think I'll try using bacon drippings instead of butter to hopefully give the sauce a bit more taste, and maybe arrowroot since the cheese and milk will ensure the sauce maintains the color expected, and the arrowroot won't add any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This sauce was a bit bland but it seems like it has potential. We will thicken for a longer period of time next time and add some jalapeno peppers. Looking forward to the next attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've been making this for years. My family loves it. I don't really measure anything, just make a white sauce and add the cheese. Like gravey, it can be a chanllenge to master this. I never tried it until I got the gravey down to a science. If the white sauce doesn't look right, throw it out before you add the cheese. You can always start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fountain, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
It a good and inexpensive recipe but what is missing is the asiago cheese and cumin. I found that cheese in the refrigerated section by the cream cheese at Wal-Mart. I think adding those to this will make it exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Not sure what happened with mine, but it was tad lumpy. I put leftovers in the fridge, reheated it the following day, and it actually tasted BETTER and was more of a dip than something to pour over chips. I'd use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I have been trying to make cheese sauce like you get when you go out. I have tried a few recipes and am just not getting it. Maybe it's me or maybe it is the cheese I am using. I don't know. I will just have to keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very delicious. I used this sauce to make chili cheese fries! The pepper jack sauce gave it more of a kick than if I would have used regular cheddar. We all loved it here! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was really good! I spiced it up with diced pickled jalpenos. Next time I'll add some more spice to it. I will never use store bought cheese sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is close to the one I make, but I use real butter. I have slightly different measurements, and I use extra seasonings, but the base here is fine. This is the basic way to make a cheese sauce for nachos, macaroni and cheese, au gratin potatoes, etc. There is nothing wrong with the method--if it didn't work for you, you need to practice more :) *Note: A flour-y flavor means you didn't cook it long enough. It has nothing to do with the ratio of ingredients listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
It's ok for a base... Pretty bland with a slightly strange texture on its own. It was pretty good after I added salsa, hot sauce, and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States