White Mountain Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe 3 times and each time it didn't turn out, I eventually went 1 cup of sugar, 1/3 cup of water and took out the salt. It came out light and sweet. I'm sorry but this recipe didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is like the fluffy white frosting that I have made when my children were growing up. I cooked the syrup midway between softball and hardball stage on my candy thermometer. Meanwhile I whipped the egg whites to a very stiff peak. Very, very easy. I had more than enough to frost two layer chocolate cake. This icing and chocolate cake is incredibly delicious. My family loved it. Next time I may try to plan to have a few extra cupcakes in the freezer to frost with surplus frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
As a couple other people have said, I just could not get this to thicken. It was also way too sweet-which I never say about anything-so after I made it I searched for other marshmallow frosting recipes & they had about 1/2 the amount of sugar to egg white ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Like the one mom used to make. Thanks for the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but for some reason it was extreamly runny. I tried to add more sugar to thicken it but it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by connie garcia
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
7 stars.its one of my best result from your column.thank you very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Followed directions, didn't work for me, not sure what I did wrong. I whipped it for a long time but it never regained the stiff peaks, was way liquidy. Had to throw it away. Googled White Mountain Frosting and found a different recipe with different proportions of sugar/water, etc. and made it instead. It worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
The best fluffy white frosting I've made in a long while. The sugar is easy to prepare, there is a huge amount of frosting, and it holds it's consistency over many hours. I would rate it 5 stars for taste, ease of recipe preparation, and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is just like marshmallow fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
LOVED THIS RECIPE! Tasted great and the iced a beautiful thick layer!!! Plan to use it many times in the future! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States