White Mountain Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This marshmellow frosting recipe was in a 1946 Better Homes cookbook. The cake has to be frosted quickly. Holiday variations can be red marachino cherry juice for the water and decorate with cherries. Also, cherry pie filling or Coke can be used as liquid for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABYDANE
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Originally, I was just looking for a substitue for Seven Minute Frosting, and since I only have a stand mixer,this recipe seemed to fit the bill. I didn't read any of the reviews, or perhaps I wouldn't have tried it. And, initially, after the first taste from the bowl, I thought I'd made a mistake in making it. But now I'm not so sure... First of all, it's marshmallow frosting, to the T! It's sticky, gooey, and even my 4-year-old daughter thought it tasted just like marshmallow. I wasn't too happy with that, since I was going for a light, airy frosting (like seven minute!) Anyway, I had made it, it came out correctly, so I slathered it on the dark chocolate cake we had made. The recipe makes a TON, but you'll need it, because if you try to spread this too thin, you'll be picking up cake like mad. Turns out, this recipe on dark chocolate cake---tastes like heaven! I'm not sure what it reminds me of, something like Sno Balls, but fresher and no coconut (although coconut on it would be awesome!) You can tell I'm a child of the 70s! Next time, though, I'll make cupcakes (dark chocolate, of course). The cake really is quite hard to cut cleanly. I also don't know yet how this will store--or even where to store it. For now it'll stay on my counter. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I'm not sure how this will hold up over the next 24 hours. As it's cooling, it's getting quite stiff, and it may just be because when cooking the syrup I went just a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I spent an hour whipping this frosting and it never came together. However the betty crocker recipe works perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
~HELP FOR THOSE WITHOUT THERM~ OK. This recipe was quite good. The reasons I didn't give it a 5 star was just because it wasn't really what I expected it to be. It was more of a marshmallow. Now, if I had used my brain and thought of the process and thought, yeah that's how you make fluff, then I would have known. Unfortunately I don't always use my brain the way I should when I am freaking out about finding a tasty vanilla frosting since I ran out of powdered sugar. I was a little worried about making the recipe since I had have recently broken my candy thermometer and I haven't replaced it yet. So here is a bit of help for those without a thermometer. It will boil after a few minutes on high. Keep it at a really rolling boil, I like mine a few notches down from the highest heat, just for safety reasons. Its going to boil for a long long time. Then it will look white with bubbles, this does not mean it is done. Just because it is syrupy doesn't mean it is done. Its got to get really nice and thick, and will look a bit yellow. It took me over 15 minutes to get it to this point, but it can take you longer or shorter. Good luck, I hope this helped some people. It is mildly hard to explain, some of it just comes with making this sort of thing a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
It's an excellent marshmallow frosting, with a very light vanilla taste. I may add more vanilla next time. Frost while it's still quite warm to ensure it stays glossy. This recipe makes enough to frost 2 9" layered cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
this is what i always use for my cupcakes. it doesn't stand up in peaks as much. but i love how it turns marshmallowy when you mix it for a really really long time. i added 2 pinches of salt to balance the sweetness. my friends and family loved how it tasted not too sweet and with a little hint of saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I don't know why this is pictured with chocolate cake, but we always make it for Angel Food cake. It has been a family favorite for well over 50 years! (or more)It's so fun and pretty, and it's fun to add flavors, colors, or sugar sprinkles. I know some reviews said they aren't crazy about this, and I can't blame them if they are putting it on a regular cake. But for an Angel Food cake, it's the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I wasn't all that impressed with this frosting, so I scraped it and used my buttercream frosting recipe instead. You may have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Followed directions, didn't work for me, not sure what I did wrong. I whipped it for a long time but it never regained the stiff peaks, was way liquidy. Had to throw it away. Googled White Mountain Frosting and found a different recipe with different proportions of sugar/water, etc. and made it instead. It worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is my favorite frosting. Very light and fluffy and great on chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States