White Mountain Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe 3 times and each time it didn't turn out, I eventually went 1 cup of sugar, 1/3 cup of water and took out the salt. It came out light and sweet. I'm sorry but this recipe didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is like the fluffy white frosting that I have made when my children were growing up. I cooked the syrup midway between softball and hardball stage on my candy thermometer. Meanwhile I whipped the egg whites to a very stiff peak. Very, very easy. I had more than enough to frost two layer chocolate cake. This icing and chocolate cake is incredibly delicious. My family loved it. Next time I may try to plan to have a few extra cupcakes in the freezer to frost with surplus frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
As a couple other people have said, I just could not get this to thicken. It was also way too sweet-which I never say about anything-so after I made it I searched for other marshmallow frosting recipes & they had about 1/2 the amount of sugar to egg white ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Like the one mom used to make. Thanks for the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but for some reason it was extreamly runny. I tried to add more sugar to thicken it but it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by connie garcia
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
7 stars.its one of my best result from your column.thank you very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Followed directions, didn't work for me, not sure what I did wrong. I whipped it for a long time but it never regained the stiff peaks, was way liquidy. Had to throw it away. Googled White Mountain Frosting and found a different recipe with different proportions of sugar/water, etc. and made it instead. It worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
The best fluffy white frosting I've made in a long while. The sugar is easy to prepare, there is a huge amount of frosting, and it holds it's consistency over many hours. I would rate it 5 stars for taste, ease of recipe preparation, and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is just like marshmallow fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
LOVED THIS RECIPE! Tasted great and the iced a beautiful thick layer!!! Plan to use it many times in the future! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States