White Mountain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
A good white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This was a great cake. I added another 1/4 cup of shortening and butter flavoring. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This turned out to be the best white cake I ever made. It was rich and moist and everyone raved. I used all purpose flour and accidently one more egg white. I'm planning on making this again many times. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I used this recipe for my Easter cake this year - it was so wonderful - not gluey like alot of white cake recipes. I used a butter and shortening mix cake frosting from Taste of Home - it was hard to stay away from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
HOLY COW !!!!! this cake is awesome !!! The key to making it is to "FOLLOW THE STEPS TO A TEE" I used it for a base for a coconut cake i substituted coconut milk for, cows milk and coconut extract for the almond. I also used 3 9" pans for 3 layers instead(It seemed like too much batter for only 2), which ended up a blessing in disguise, i made cocnut frosting and toasted coconut for the 2 layer, and frosted the 3rd seperately with lemon frosting and served it with a scoop of sweetened crushed pineapple !!! 2 cakes for my function out of one recipie !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROYANDMISSY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I really liked this cake, it is dense but very good. I only had vanilla extract so i used about twice what it called for, also taking advice from another review i added 1 TBS veg oil. Came out great, moist, and sweet. I made some cream and dolloped on top, YUM YUM!! Very good will make again!! Next time I'm going to try and marble it, place more than half into dish then add some cocoa powder to what is left and marble it in. Should be really good. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This cake was a mess, but sure did taste great! It didnt take long time and was easy to bake. I would suggest this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CinnamonCooney
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
A perfect white cake. Worth the best you have in the pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
As a professional baker, you CANNOT change a recipe and then complain it did not turn out. Using egg yolks instead of whites would ruin any white cake. You're whipping them for a reason. Great recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
great recipe! easy to make and turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Eury Berna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States