White Mountain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
A good white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This was a great cake. I added another 1/4 cup of shortening and butter flavoring. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This turned out to be the best white cake I ever made. It was rich and moist and everyone raved. I used all purpose flour and accidently one more egg white. I'm planning on making this again many times. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I used this recipe for my Easter cake this year - it was so wonderful - not gluey like alot of white cake recipes. I used a butter and shortening mix cake frosting from Taste of Home - it was hard to stay away from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I made this cake last week-end and it was very, very dry. I bake a lot of cakes and this one was hard to eat. It claimed to be very moist but it was the opposite. Don't waste your time on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
HOLY COW !!!!! this cake is awesome !!! The key to making it is to "FOLLOW THE STEPS TO A TEE" I used it for a base for a coconut cake i substituted coconut milk for, cows milk and coconut extract for the almond. I also used 3 9" pans for 3 layers instead(It seemed like too much batter for only 2), which ended up a blessing in disguise, i made cocnut frosting and toasted coconut for the 2 layer, and frosted the 3rd seperately with lemon frosting and served it with a scoop of sweetened crushed pineapple !!! 2 cakes for my function out of one recipie !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROYANDMISSY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
this was good but not quite what i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I really liked this cake, it is dense but very good. I only had vanilla extract so i used about twice what it called for, also taking advice from another review i added 1 TBS veg oil. Came out great, moist, and sweet. I made some cream and dolloped on top, YUM YUM!! Very good will make again!! Next time I'm going to try and marble it, place more than half into dish then add some cocoa powder to what is left and marble it in. Should be really good. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
It was pretty good... I used 2 eggs and 1 egg white instead of 5 egg whites. I've had better white cake though, so I'll keep searching for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This cake was a mess, but sure did taste great! It didnt take long time and was easy to bake. I would suggest this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States