White Mountain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is a fairly dense cake but it's very tasty. The almond extract is a must. I used cream cheese frosting on it and it was a nice pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great cake. Dense, moist, delicious. It's very important to beat the egg whites until they are stiff and to be very gentle when folding them in. I frosted these cupcakes with sturdy whipped cream frosting, which was a bit of a boring combination. The ones where I had added some chocolate chips in the batter were better so I will either do that for all of them next time, or I will frost with chocolate frosting. Overall a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Followed almost exactly (but I always use original almond milk in place of cows milk and I used organic salted butter in place of shortening) and it makes a nice large amount...enough for 24 fluffy cupcakes which I arranged in an airplane shape for my sons 2nd birhtday. However my cupcakes were very dry :( Will try again and follow advice of some other users to increase milk to 1 1/2 cups. Had a great taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Way good! It is as moist & fluffy as a boxed mix, but without any additives. Love it!!! Will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Delicious cake. Recipe should be followed EXACTLY. For beginner bakers, loose whites will cause a cake to collapse in the center while in the oven. (I made this mistake.) Take care to beat the egg whites till fluffy/stiff and fold in mixture as directed. If you find that your palette is sensitive to the taste of shortening, then consider researching how to substitute with oil or margarine. Made a basic 5-minute vanilla icing. Worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was awesome! I loved it. I made this for Easter and made a buttercream to ice it with, perfecto. I was a little timid about making it, since I have been known to mess up cakes occasionaly, but this turned out great! I took the other viewers advice and added another half cup of milk, we only had a little shortening, so I used what was left and finished it up with butter. My family loved this, it was gone in a day! Will definatly make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I tried this recipe because of the rave reviews. Thought it'd be a sure thing. I followed the recipe exactly and got a cake that smelled wonderful. however, the taste was boring and it had a odd consistency. I could taste and feel uncooked flour. I'm not a novice baker, I'd say intermediate, but this recipe just didn't come out great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
this was a great cake m only 13 and it was simple to make this how ever it was a little dry but it was fun for evryone to help it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandwich12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this into cupcakes. It was fluffy and moist, which was great, but tasted and smelled like a pancake. Next time I'll add some fruit and make muffins with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made this into a sheet cake so I could use my heart shaped cookie cutter to make individual cakes for my sweethearts and my Valentines Day dessert. He loves white cake and really enjoyed this recipe. Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States