White Mountain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a very, very good white cake. White cakes can be very tricky so be sure to follow the directions carefully. This will ensure a moist, delicious white cake. This is very similar to Heavenly White Cake which has great reviews. This has a bit more cake flour and sugar and an extra egg white. It produces (3) 9 inch layers where as Heavenly White Cake produces (3) 8 inch layers. As with Heavenly White Cake, I used butter vs. shortening and used 1 & 1/2 cups of milk which may account for the additional moistness. I also doubled the vanilla. Be sure to whip your egg whites!!! If you need detailed instructions view the ones for Heavenly White Cake - it'll be a big help. Both are delicious. I filled this cake with seedless raspberry jelly and "Whipped Cream Frosting" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
As a professional baker, you CANNOT change a recipe and then complain it did not turn out. Using egg yolks instead of whites would ruin any white cake. You're whipping them for a reason. Great recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is extremely close to my Great Grandmother's recipe. She calls for 1/2 c more sugar, 1 tsp less baking powder and 1/2 tsp more almond. I also use whipping cream instead of milk. Follow the directions! Sift cake flour THEN measure 3c. Sift all dry ingredients again. Line the bottom of the pans with parchment, do not grease them. Fluff the shortening with half the sugar so it has a frosting like consistency. This will create air bubbles in the fat. Adding cold eggs or milk will deflate the air you worked hard to create! Also be sure to beat your egg whites until soft peaks form by using the other half of the recipe sugar and ONLY egg whites. If you add yolks it will not fluff up right and you will not have enough air. This will take about 10 min. Don't deflate mix as you're adding the dry and wet ingredients. Do this by adding the most amount of dry first to coat with the fat before starting to add the cream. *Mix by hand* Do not over mix once the baking powder has been activated (mixed with the wet). You should have to spread your cake into the pans, not pour. It will be visibly bubbly! Oven temperature is also key - must be a steady 350. Even if you follow directions, a faulty oven will spoil it all. Have a suspended thermometer to make sure your oven temp is correct (25deg too hot or cold makes a huge difference). **Do not open the oven or it will fall! Send running children outside!** Let the cake cool in the parchment lined pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This turned out to be the best white cake I ever made. It was rich and moist and everyone raved. I used all purpose flour and accidently one more egg white. I'm planning on making this again many times. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
HOLY COW !!!!! this cake is awesome !!! The key to making it is to "FOLLOW THE STEPS TO A TEE" I used it for a base for a coconut cake i substituted coconut milk for, cows milk and coconut extract for the almond. I also used 3 9" pans for 3 layers instead(It seemed like too much batter for only 2), which ended up a blessing in disguise, i made cocnut frosting and toasted coconut for the 2 layer, and frosted the 3rd seperately with lemon frosting and served it with a scoop of sweetened crushed pineapple !!! 2 cakes for my function out of one recipie !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROYANDMISSY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I was looking for a "wedding" type cake and this is so it! Great and easy recipe. Baked it in a 9" x 13" pan so I could decorate it for my son's birthday and it only took 28 minutes to bake. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I really liked this cake, it is dense but very good. I only had vanilla extract so i used about twice what it called for, also taking advice from another review i added 1 TBS veg oil. Came out great, moist, and sweet. I made some cream and dolloped on top, YUM YUM!! Very good will make again!! Next time I'm going to try and marble it, place more than half into dish then add some cocoa powder to what is left and marble it in. Should be really good. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CinnamonCooney
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
A perfect white cake. Worth the best you have in the pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This was a great cake. I added another 1/4 cup of shortening and butter flavoring. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I used this recipe for my cake decorating class-final graduation cake- and it was a perfectly formed two layers, perfect heigth with no dome and not too dense. And it was wonderfully fragranced to boot. All this can only be acheived if you use CAKE flour, and follow the directions which say beat egg whites and FOLD into mixture. If your cake was dense it means you stirred the air out of the whites when you added it to the batter. This will be my go-to recipe in the future for white cakes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2theC4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States