White Mountain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this for my daughters birthday and it tasted wonderful. Fabulous flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Just ok. My husband said it tasted like a huge pancake. I agree with other viewers, it had a corn bread flavor and consistency. Maybe I need a better grade of flour.?? I used a homemade cream cheese frosting on it which really saved the cake. But I could probably eat a shoe if it had cream cheese frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
The flavor was delicious! I made it for my Mom's birthday party, and we had not a bite left; everyone cleaned their plates! My cake did fall a bit, I think because I opened the oven door to check it when I shouldn't have. However, it looked nice once it was frosted. I added a tablespoon of vegetable oil as suggested by another reviewer; otherwise, followed the recipe step by step. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is extremely close to my Great Grandmother's recipe. She calls for 1/2 c more sugar, 1 tsp less baking powder and 1/2 tsp more almond. I also use whipping cream instead of milk. Follow the directions! Sift cake flour THEN measure 3c. Sift all dry ingredients again. Line the bottom of the pans with parchment, do not grease them. Fluff the shortening with half the sugar so it has a frosting like consistency. This will create air bubbles in the fat. Adding cold eggs or milk will deflate the air you worked hard to create! Also be sure to beat your egg whites until soft peaks form by using the other half of the recipe sugar and ONLY egg whites. If you add yolks it will not fluff up right and you will not have enough air. This will take about 10 min. Don't deflate mix as you're adding the dry and wet ingredients. Do this by adding the most amount of dry first to coat with the fat before starting to add the cream. *Mix by hand* Do not over mix once the baking powder has been activated (mixed with the wet). You should have to spread your cake into the pans, not pour. It will be visibly bubbly! Oven temperature is also key - must be a steady 350. Even if you follow directions, a faulty oven will spoil it all. Have a suspended thermometer to make sure your oven temp is correct (25deg too hot or cold makes a huge difference). **Do not open the oven or it will fall! Send running children outside!** Let the cake cool in the parchment lined pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Just finished making this cake...only one problem, I wish I had gone with my first instinct to make it in 3-9 inch pans...I didn't and the cake spilled over a little, not unfixable, but I hope the extended cooking time time did not dry out the cake. I made it for a birthday cake at work...I will have to let you know tommorrow how everyone likes it...or not...Next time I make this cake I will but it in 3 pans. FYI: I stirred in some of those little pastel colored, confetti candies into the cake batter and when I made the frosting (a white cream cheese frosting), I put about 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract in along with the vanilla, (just like that cake called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This cake was dense, dry and crumbly. It tasted like a giant (dry) pancake. I prepared it as written and have years of experience as a successful baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I was looking for a "wedding" type cake and this is so it! Great and easy recipe. Baked it in a 9" x 13" pan so I could decorate it for my son's birthday and it only took 28 minutes to bake. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
great recipe! easy to make and turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
As a professional baker, you CANNOT change a recipe and then complain it did not turn out. Using egg yolks instead of whites would ruin any white cake. You're whipping them for a reason. Great recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CinnamonCooney
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
A perfect white cake. Worth the best you have in the pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States