White Mountain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this into cupcakes. It was fluffy and moist, which was great, but tasted and smelled like a pancake. Next time I'll add some fruit and make muffins with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made this into a sheet cake so I could use my heart shaped cookie cutter to make individual cakes for my sweethearts and my Valentines Day dessert. He loves white cake and really enjoyed this recipe. Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good cake. It's great on it's own, or with frosting, or possibly as the base for a less sweet Gooey Butter Cake. I did alter the recipe some---either I was out of something, or I wanted to experiment. My edits included: 1/2 c. of sweetened condensed milk + 1/2 c. of water instead of milk; 1 c. of granulated sugar + 3/4 c. of homemade powdered sugar; a splash more vanilla. One thing I did wrong that I didn't realize until just now is that I folded the egg whites into the batter, rather than whipping them to soft peaks first. I wrote the instruction down incorrectly! Still tastes good, moist and dense, though slightly dry. Next time, I will use butter and shortenining, whip egg whites, and add more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjonze

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This did not turn out anywhere near as I had hoped. I cooled the cakes on a wire rack and after they cooled, I was able to hold up the cakes. They look like a giant sugar cookie. They were very dense. I cut up the cake in squares and will put some strawberries on it because the cake tastes just like a shortcake biscuit! My husband said he will take a slice and put some jam on it for breakfast tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeMom87

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a very, very good white cake. White cakes can be very tricky so be sure to follow the directions carefully. This will ensure a moist, delicious white cake. This is very similar to Heavenly White Cake which has great reviews. This has a bit more cake flour and sugar and an extra egg white. It produces (3) 9 inch layers where as Heavenly White Cake produces (3) 8 inch layers. As with Heavenly White Cake, I used butter vs. shortening and used 1 & 1/2 cups of milk which may account for the additional moistness. I also doubled the vanilla. Be sure to whip your egg whites!!! If you need detailed instructions view the ones for Heavenly White Cake - it'll be a big help. Both are delicious. I filled this cake with seedless raspberry jelly and "Whipped Cream Frosting" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
It was okay but I will probably keep looking for a go- to white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
the reviews were all over the place. good and bad so i tried it anyway. I was really disappointed in the recipe and agree with the husband who described it as eating a big pancake. not my choice for a fluffy white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I was impressed by the reviews for this recipe so my daughter and I used it for her birthday cake - BIG mistake. Despite following the instructions exactly it tasted awful, entirely like shortening and baking powder. It looked nice, light, moist and fluffy but the taste was so bad we had to scrap it and use a cake mix I had in the cupboard. Maybe if we had used butter instead of shortening it would have been ok but I can't understand all the great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this exactly as written and it turned out perfectly - almost pound cake like. It was moist, not too sweet and the perfect consistency for fondant. I'm not a great baker, and this one is in my file as my "go to" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CdnCoralie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
dissapointed, after reading all these comments I decided on this one. I followed the directions to a T, turned out very dry & not very flavorfull :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States