White Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
It's awesome! I made 2 loafs of it this past Christmas, and my family absolutely loved it, and now they are asking me for more on New Years'. I I did make a few changes thou. I soaked the candied fruit in 1 cup of orange liquor the night before ( instead of orange juice). I used gluten free flour instead of the regular "all purpose" one, and I replaced the sugar with splenda. Also, the butter I used was the all natural butter spread, instead of the regular. A few changes made it a little healthier, and the taste was just fabulous. Thanks for the recipe, and Happy New Years you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This will be my third Christmas baking this wonderful fruitcake. It is so moist and delicious! I replace the candied fruit with dried fruit because this is the way I prefer it. The first year I went out and bought the candied fruits and candied citron and orange peel in the plastic containers and was just disguised with the way it smelled. No way I wanted to ruin a perfectly good cake (and time, effort and money) with that junk, so I replaced with dried cherries, organic raisins, currants and dried pineapples and zested some orange and Lemon peel into the batter. Just a really really good cake - I look forward to Christmas season each year because of this fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these cakes and used 3 cups of sugar instead of 4. Turned out really good. The pan of water in the oven helps keep the cake moist. Very flavorful. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. I made this as the recipe specified though I had to use some different dried fruits based on what was available locally. I sampled it shortly after baking and it was very good then but it has definitely improved with time. I have brushed with a tablespoon of brandy weekly. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This recipe is good except for one thing. It left out the flavorings. I didn't realize it until I finished, but it needs vanilla, or lemon or orange flavoring. I also used only dried fruit and soaked for 3 days in rum, drained it and put it into the mix. While I am soaking my cakes every 3 days with rum, it will still be good but really needed the flavorings to enhance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
The best fruits cake I ever eat.. Basically I don't like fruits cake but after I try this recipies.... Hmmmmm yummmyyyy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this fruitcake this past Christmas. I am from a fruitcake famly as I watched fruitcakes being made from the time I started to walk. This recipe was the best I have ever seen made or made myself. I was so moist and tender. I think it was the powdered sugar and egg whites since this is the first time I have used these two ingredients as called for in the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is the absolute best fruit cake I have ever eaten. Beats all store bought one too. I love fruit cake and decided to try making one myself (for the first time) Found this recipe and I followed it to the T. Made no changes at all. Thank you so much for sharing. This will definitely be added to my favorite recipes. (btw, my daughter never liked fruit cake until she had a slice of this one)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I am one of the ones who can not stand fruit cake, but I was pleasantly surprised by this one. I am not a fan of candied or maraschino cherries so I used dried cherries instead and had to omit the pecans due to allergies. The cakes disappeared within 2 days and having to make again and will have to hide them for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Totally the best! I prefer light fruitcake to dark, which isn't easy to find anymore. So, I made it last year and repeated it this year, soaking it each time in brandy - YUM. I substitute candied papaya for the cherries, just don't like those things and candied my own orange and lemon peel (easy to do) to replace the citron. Just as good with the pecans for those who have nut allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States