White Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is just like a white fruitcake I had years ago. My family loved it! This one will be a yearly tradition from now on. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
So much better than store bought! It's my second year using this recipe and didn't change anything. Letting it sit in the fridge for at least 5 days does make taste and texture even better. Although, smelling the loaves fresh out of the oven in front of me is making it hard to resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This cake is delicious. I did not use the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Awesome recipe!! I soaked fruit in whiskey for 3 days, then after it was baked i brushed it once a week with whiskey again, for 4 weeks. excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Just wonderful. I used all dried fruit versus any candied because I don't care for the latter. After cooling the loaves, I wrapped them in cheesecloth, brushed them with rum, and then refrigerated them in an airtight container for a week or so. Everyone loved them, adults and kids, fruitcake lovers and fruitcake haters ;). Great recipe that I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Peck Huber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this recipe over 5 years ago and brought it into work. It vaporized -- even people who didn't like fruitcake loved it. This is a no-fail fruit cake. I think that the 2 oz. each of candied citron and orange peel are what contribute to people liking this particular recipe. Many fruitcake recipes go heavy on the citrus. This year I'm making it again and substituting brandy for the orange juice, and chopped apricots in place of some of the raisins. It's important to grease your pans, and then line them with greased parchment paper. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Meadows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soosan
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
When my DH said he wanted a fruitcake, I thought yuck! I searched a while before I found this one. I split this recipe in half...I mean how much fruitcake can one eat?? I did tweek this recipe~it's what I do~ Well, let me tell you, I made another batch right away!! I have made this every year since! Whoda thunk it would be MY favorite as well!! It is a forgiving recipe~I did elimininate ALL the 'candied' fruit, so I could cut back on the sugar as well. I use only dried fruit: apricots, blueberries, cherries, golden/black raisins, cranberries; orange juice & rum to make 1 1/2 cups...which soaked into the fruit overnight. I did shake the container a few times to coat the cut up pieces. Today, I made 8 4 1/2" x 2 1/2" sized pans of cake and one 9x5 loaf pan....baked a bit over an hour. This way I can remove one from the freezer, and won't feel bad if I eat the whole thing. Or they are good sizes to share. I enjoy the surprise, when fruitcake haters eat this and find out fruit cake ain't half bad!! One more thing~a LARGE bowl is real helpful~I mean larger than a regular large bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is The Best Ever!!!!! my husband of 23 years informed me (2 years ago) that he really likes White Fruitcake and isn't very fond of dark fruitcake(my regular recipe).... go figure......this is a wonderful recipe, I even made a batch for Valentines Day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth Mills Shopp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
It's awesome! I made 2 loafs of it this past Christmas, and my family absolutely loved it, and now they are asking me for more on New Years'. I I did make a few changes thou. I soaked the candied fruit in 1 cup of orange liquor the night before ( instead of orange juice). I used gluten free flour instead of the regular "all purpose" one, and I replaced the sugar with splenda. Also, the butter I used was the all natural butter spread, instead of the regular. A few changes made it a little healthier, and the taste was just fabulous. Thanks for the recipe, and Happy New Years you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This will be my third Christmas baking this wonderful fruitcake. It is so moist and delicious! I replace the candied fruit with dried fruit because this is the way I prefer it. The first year I went out and bought the candied fruits and candied citron and orange peel in the plastic containers and was just disguised with the way it smelled. No way I wanted to ruin a perfectly good cake (and time, effort and money) with that junk, so I replaced with dried cherries, organic raisins, currants and dried pineapples and zested some orange and Lemon peel into the batter. Just a really really good cake - I look forward to Christmas season each year because of this fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States