White Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is the best fruit cake I've ever tasted--including those expensive ones made by the monks. Simply fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I'd tried this one, it's so good especially when let it set for 5-7 days in the fridge. I think next time I will cut out some sugar because it is a bit too sweet for my taste. I use more portion of preserved mandarin orange, and orange flavor and color showed beautifully.Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This recipe is really easy to work with. I had to substitute a number of the fruits and the pecans for other fruits and nuts and it still came out looking great! The dough is very thick however, so be forwarned! I also baked it in a couple of bread pans and then since I didn't have three chose to make muffins out of the rest of the dough. I think they'll look great on my Christmas cookie trays (and will probably fool some people into trying them). I made mini-muffins which baked for about 22min. and regular muffin size which baked for about 30min. Personally, next time I will fill the mini-muffin tins fuller next time as they don't really rise and grease the top of the tin as well as the cups. Otherwise it turned out wonderfully. Keep in mind that fruitcakes should be completely cooled in their tins to retain moisture (which somebody had told me just a little earlier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanderer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rivne, Rivne Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this cake as my "Main" Christmas dessert this past Christmas and I was VERY VERY pleased with the results! I only made a couple changes, and none of those being fundamental. I used whiskey in place of the orange juice and I used less candied fruit and more dried fruits like dates and apricots and dried pineapple not candied. I also poured 1/4 cup whiskey over top before setting aside on the cold backporch to age a little. Everyone loved it..even my husband who is not a fruitcake person. I will make again and again. This is now my fruitcake recipe that I will use. Next year I will probably only use dried fruits and no candied. It makes for a more real flavor. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Especially good toasted, if you like fruit cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
You are right, this recipe converted me! I have never made a fruit cake, this was my first and last. BEST FRUITCAKE EVER!!!! I used the mixed candied fruit and raisins and nuts only, because I just don't care for cherries and pineapples so I tweaked for my taste and it was AWESOME! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Wonderful recipe. Made several times and gave as gifts. I had nothing but rave reviews from all..Will certainly do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe is WONDERFUL! Everyone loved it. I tweaked by soaking the fruit in 8 oz. of triple sec and 8 oz. of orange juice. Amazing texture. It gives fruitcake a good name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe is perfect but I always make my own changes...LOL I soaked the raisins in scotch for 5 days.I then reserve the scotch to use to feed my finished fruit cake.I added orange extract and some allspice for a lil more flavor.I still added the orange juice to the mix along with the fruits as the original recipe required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Yummy! I decided to go ahead and review it even with my changes because it was so forgiving! I forgot my list so had to guess on the candied fruits - ended up not buying enough pineapple or any currants. So I doubled the candied orange peel (to sub for some of the pineapple) and used dried blueberries and extra raisins for the currants. I also used less nuts because I didn't buy enough. I microwaved the fruit with the OJ as a previous reviewer mentioned but I forget to let it cool before adding it to the butter mixture. Didn't seem to make a difference! I also didn't whip the egg whites quite enough...I have a Kitchen Aid and the bowl was already dirty from the butter/sugar/yolk mixture. It still came out great. The flavor is almost like a sugar cookie - but with the dried and candied fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States