White Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
My family and I didn't like this recipe initially...but then we let it sit for a while and we loved it...couldn't get enough of it. This was my first experience in both making and eating a fruit cake. I've been told since then that fruitcakes are expected to sit for a while--I didn't know. I would recommend making this for those who might not like fruit cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I made this first last Christmas (with a few fruit tweaks of my own, but I always do that)and everyone loved it, even the fruitcake resisters. This year I experimented again and baked it in wide mouth pint jars 3/4 full of batter. Then snugged new lids on the hot baked jars, they sealed as they cooled and made wonderful gifts. This is THE BEST!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I really dislike tweaking recipes before trying them but i had a few problems getting all the necessary ingredients, so i had to substitute pecans for mixed nuts (mostly peanuts it turns out) and a tropicla fruit mix for pineapple. I also couldn't be bothered to wait for the fruit over night so i put it in the microwave for 8 minutes and this did the trick. Instead of using loaf pans i made a round one, and it is absolutely huge, everyone is very impressed! I havn't tried it as i've only just started feeding it, but it turned out fantastically, although it needs 3 hrs cooking this way. Thank you so much! We don't like dark fruit cake in our house, but this balance as almost....well you could say, saved christmas :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This Cake is way better than other fruit cakes I had and this one is the bomb and it's increbibly good!!!!!!!!!\ This a 5 Star Cake *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is a great recipe for white fruitcake. I have been looking for a good white fruitcake recipe, and this is definitley the one! Will make again every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I followed the recipe to a 'T' and it turned out fantastically. I'm not a huge fruit cake fan but I loved it as did my family. I recommend this recipe to anybody and everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
You are right, this recipe converted me! I have never made a fruit cake, this was my first and last. BEST FRUITCAKE EVER!!!! I used the mixed candied fruit and raisins and nuts only, because I just don't care for cherries and pineapples so I tweaked for my taste and it was AWESOME! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I'd tried this one, it's so good especially when let it set for 5-7 days in the fridge. I think next time I will cut out some sugar because it is a bit too sweet for my taste. I use more portion of preserved mandarin orange, and orange flavor and color showed beautifully.Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This recipe is really easy to work with. I had to substitute a number of the fruits and the pecans for other fruits and nuts and it still came out looking great! The dough is very thick however, so be forwarned! I also baked it in a couple of bread pans and then since I didn't have three chose to make muffins out of the rest of the dough. I think they'll look great on my Christmas cookie trays (and will probably fool some people into trying them). I made mini-muffins which baked for about 22min. and regular muffin size which baked for about 30min. Personally, next time I will fill the mini-muffin tins fuller next time as they don't really rise and grease the top of the tin as well as the cups. Otherwise it turned out wonderfully. Keep in mind that fruitcakes should be completely cooled in their tins to retain moisture (which somebody had told me just a little earlier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanderer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rivne, Rivne Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Wonderful recipe. Made several times and gave as gifts. I had nothing but rave reviews from all..Will certainly do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States