White Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is WONDERFUL! I personally hate all baked fruit, but this is the exception! I made if for a bakesale, and had to make another batch for myself! It's really easy to substitute the dried fruits. The orange juice gives it a real tangy flavor that is delicious. If you don't have time to let the fruit and orange juice sit overnight, put it the fruit in the microwave with the orange juice for about 5 minutes. (I put mine in a shallow pan in the bottom of the oven while I was pre-heating and mixing the rest of it...) All in all, it's a really light, delicious version of fruit cake, that is easy to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I have made this cake for years. I usually cook mine in October. My recipe calls for this cake to be wrapped in wax paper and then foil and placed in the fridge until Christmas. I have found this makes the flavor develop and a more moist cake. It should not be called a fruit cake. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrier Mills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitchenfire
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used a mix of golden dried fruit macerated in spiced rum and no nuts. I also found this cake to require some aging, preferably with a good rum bath. Fantastic fruit cake for lovers and non-lovers alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenfire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Yummy! I decided to go ahead and review it even with my changes because it was so forgiving! I forgot my list so had to guess on the candied fruits - ended up not buying enough pineapple or any currants. So I doubled the candied orange peel (to sub for some of the pineapple) and used dried blueberries and extra raisins for the currants. I also used less nuts because I didn't buy enough. I microwaved the fruit with the OJ as a previous reviewer mentioned but I forget to let it cool before adding it to the butter mixture. Didn't seem to make a difference! I also didn't whip the egg whites quite enough...I have a Kitchen Aid and the bowl was already dirty from the butter/sugar/yolk mixture. It still came out great. The flavor is almost like a sugar cookie - but with the dried and candied fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Especially good toasted, if you like fruit cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe is perfect but I always make my own changes...LOL I soaked the raisins in scotch for 5 days.I then reserve the scotch to use to feed my finished fruit cake.I added orange extract and some allspice for a lil more flavor.I still added the orange juice to the mix along with the fruits as the original recipe required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is the best fruit cake I've ever tasted--including those expensive ones made by the monks. Simply fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe is WONDERFUL! Everyone loved it. I tweaked by soaking the fruit in 8 oz. of triple sec and 8 oz. of orange juice. Amazing texture. It gives fruitcake a good name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this cake as my "Main" Christmas dessert this past Christmas and I was VERY VERY pleased with the results! I only made a couple changes, and none of those being fundamental. I used whiskey in place of the orange juice and I used less candied fruit and more dried fruits like dates and apricots and dried pineapple not candied. I also poured 1/4 cup whiskey over top before setting aside on the cold backporch to age a little. Everyone loved it..even my husband who is not a fruitcake person. I will make again and again. This is now my fruitcake recipe that I will use. Next year I will probably only use dried fruits and no candied. It makes for a more real flavor. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Wonderful recipe. Made several times and gave as gifts. I had nothing but rave reviews from all..Will certainly do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States