White Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very good. Yielded 3 loaf pans, that were done in 1 1/2 hours. A far cry from the old dark fruitcake that I used to help my mother mix up in a wash pan! (those were probably better suited for door stops). I will be adding this to my Christmas recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have been trying to find a good recipe for white fruit cake for a long time. This one fit exactly what I wanted, however I was unable to find currants and had to sub in dates. I do believe that the writer WAY underestimated the prep time. The batter was so thick it took me forever to stir in the flour. Also it really does make 2 loaf pans and 2 small loaf pans. Be prepared to eat or give away a lot. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitesville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Never have made a fruit cake before. Have always loved them. Decided to give it a try and I was really impressed with the way it came out. Pretty much stuck to the recipe and will make it again after the holidays and the price drops on the ingredients. I did give some to friend that didn't like fruit cake and he really liked it. Can't wait to try it on my family at Thanksgiving. After putting in the cakes in the oven and started washing dishes, I found that the end of one of my spatulas was missing....wasn't in the first cake. Guess I will find it on Thanksgiving! LOL Thanks for the Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I have made this recipe for several years. I add the fruits and nuts we like best. I also soak the cakes in a little brandy for at least a month before Christmas. It always turns out well. I think what makes this cake is the beaten egg whites and the confectioners sugar, as well as the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was my first time making a fruit cake from a recipe, all of my other attempts have been from cake mixes plus modifications. This reciepe turned out a wonderful fruit cake. Since I was giving this fruit cake as a Christmas Gift I wanted it to be a bit special, so I made an Amaretto Fruit Cake. I used Amaretto in place of Orange juice. I also added Almonds along with the Pecans. I didn't want the cake overly sweet so I used "dried" fruit, not "candied" fruit. I'll make this again along with some additional adjustments, then I'll have an Amaretto Fruit Cake Recipe that I can post. Thanks, Walt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w3leon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
What a great cake. I had to substitute a few things because they are just not available in Costa Rica. I.e currants and I couldn't find pineapple chunks, But I just substituted equivalent amounts of what I could find. I also added some brandy. Had the cake prepped and ready to go in the oven and realized I had forgot the egg whites. Remixed the cake and baked it in the oven. The smell, the taste, it is abosolutely wonderful. It is a must on my Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Made 18 servings which equaled 1 loaf bread. I'll have to update my review in a week to let the fruit cake age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I really don't care for fruitcake but thought I would try this for my husband. OMG! It was the best fruitcake I have ever eaten! I will be making this every year from now on! This recipe is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u2debb
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This really IS the BEST fruitcake recipe (and I've tried a LOT!) I thought I was the only person on the planet who actually enjoyed fruitcake...but I've made a lot of converts with this recipe. Try it. You'll like it. P.S. I made it again and accidentally used granulated sugar instead of confectioner's sugar and it still turned out fantastic (two of my friends came by asking if I had any more of that fruitcake) winner, winner, winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is awesome! It is so moist and flavorful. Oh my goodness, my husband who hates all types of fruit cake has already eaten a loaf by himself. I followed the directions and it made 3 loaf pans. Delicious!! not a believer? Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States