White Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
subbed out a few fruits but it was wonderful! The recipe make a lot more than I was expecting. A loaf, two mini loafs, and a whole tray of muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kundra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe. It was my first experience at making a fruit cake and it was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Oh, my. This is crazy addictive! If I use the "candied" fruit again, I will cut down on the sugar just a bit. If using regular dried fruit, the sugar level is probably just fine. That will be a future experiment. This will be my go to quick bread base recipe, and my favorite homemade gift to give. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Absolutely delicious - and easy to put together once everything is cut and chopped. But ... it crumbled however carefully I cut the slices - delicious crumbles but the slices would have looked better on the platter! It was necessary to make several substitutions because ingredients in original recipe are not available in my area - dried cranberries instead of currents, maraschino cherries (well-drained) instead of dried or candied cherries, dark raisins instead of white, and added some dried apricots instead of citron. Did I drizzle too much whiskey on top, or not make it far enough ahead of eating, or maybe needed a different brand or quantity of flour, or different oven temperature? Will definitely make this again but would like to do slices next time! Ideas anybody?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My husband decided he wanted to try to may a fruit cake like his mother used to make we did not have her recipe but this looked close. We tweak some of the fruit but otherwise followed the recipe. He bake the cakes then let them set overnight then he put some honey whiskey over them and let them set another night. We took one bite and could not stop eating. DECADENT....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is just like a white fruitcake I had years ago. My family loved it! This one will be a yearly tradition from now on. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
So much better than store bought! It's my second year using this recipe and didn't change anything. Letting it sit in the fridge for at least 5 days does make taste and texture even better. Although, smelling the loaves fresh out of the oven in front of me is making it hard to resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This cake is delicious. I did not use the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Awesome recipe!! I soaked fruit in whiskey for 3 days, then after it was baked i brushed it once a week with whiskey again, for 4 weeks. excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Just wonderful. I used all dried fruit versus any candied because I don't care for the latter. After cooling the loaves, I wrapped them in cheesecloth, brushed them with rum, and then refrigerated them in an airtight container for a week or so. Everyone loved them, adults and kids, fruitcake lovers and fruitcake haters ;). Great recipe that I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Peck Huber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States