White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Last night I needed a quick and easy recipie for frosting, and I found this one. I wish I would have taken a few more moments to search. Anyone who is looking for a good recipie for frosting I urge you to keep looking. I ruined my cake last night. And yes the frosting was beating for 12 mins. If you do use this recipie sub the white surgar for confectioners and add a 1/4 more. half the fatty shorting or just use double butter flavored margarine. Too much to subsitute just take a few moments and find another. Tastes like wax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
I don't ever usually review anything, but I had to on this recipie. I don't really care for traditional frosting recipies, but this one is a winner! It has a light creamy custard-like taste. Yum! Be sure to beat it for the full 10-12 minutes...it really makes a difference on how light and creamy it gets. Thanks for the great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is the frosting my mom always used for my birthday cake(I'm in my 50's). This is old fashion butter cream frosting and is not as sweet as recipes using powdered sugar. My mom used all butter an no shortening,which gives it a richer taste. You do need to beat a long time to avoid a gritty texture from the granulated sugar. It is somewhat lighter than most frostings, but still holds on to the cake while frosting. I would refrigerate after frosting because of the milk and bring out 30 minutes before serving. I just made this using Eggnog in place of milk for an eggnog cake I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I have used this recipe for years. I have never refrigerated it and it last as long as the cake. AND IT NEVER HARDENS. If you follow the recipe exactly Betty Crocker will go bankrupt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe...this same one has been in my family for ages and I know of some bakeries that use the same. They key is room temp ingredients and whipping for 15 minutes. ADDING EXTRA SUGAR will make it gritty. This also works well with a few tablespoons of cocoa or peanut butter to vary the flavors. This is a high success frosting compared to gritty, runny powdered sugar frosting that makes a mess and is sensitive to temperature. KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I made this recipe twice. When you mix the milk and flour do it before you put it on the stove, use a whip to break up any flour, as you heat whip it. I cut this recipe in 1/2 when I made a batch, 24 cupcakes, it was enough. I beat it in the blender for about 20 minutes on high both times. I was really surprised that it was so smooth considering it used granulated sugar. It is not a very sweet frosting recipe at all. It is an easy recipe especially if you don't want to have to run out to the grocery for a bunch of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hensen22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was a little worried about this recipe because of the ingredients, but I was looking for a frosting that wasn't so sweet and the reviews were good. Have to admit I went ahead and bought powdered sugar just in case it didn't work, but didn't have to use it. I used it to frost a snowman cake for my son's 3rd birthday near Christmas and it was so fluffy it really looked like snow! I will be using this recipe for all my cakes that I would normally use the "sweet stuff"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I really liked the flavor and the texture of this icing, even though I was a little nervous about mixing hte flour and milk at first (it looked like a wierd gravy thing), but it turned out delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I was looking for a recipe that didn't use powdered sugar(I was out!)This fit the bill. I don't think I beat it enough. Turned out great though. It was more than enough to frost a 9 x 13 lemon cake. Thanks!michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I had never even hear of a cooked frosting before! Thank you for this recipe! People should know that its not sweet and tastes nothing like buttercream. It has all the lightness of whipped cream, only it holds together way better. I used all butter this time, it was very good, but I might try it with the shortening next time. This is my new go-to recipe for white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zapopan, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States