White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I was looking for a recipe that didn't use powdered sugar(I was out!)This fit the bill. I don't think I beat it enough. Turned out great though. It was more than enough to frost a 9 x 13 lemon cake. Thanks!michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
I have used this frosting on a ton of cakes, and it hasn't failed me yet. It's creamy & light, and lasts for a couple days (if the cake lasts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Great!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I used this recipe to frost a two layer box mix yellow cake, and sprinkled it with coconut. Both my husband and I thought it was delicious. It was also very easy to spread, most other icings aren't. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
It's so good and easy. I love it!Thank you so much for such a good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
I don't ever usually review anything, but I had to on this recipie. I don't really care for traditional frosting recipies, but this one is a winner! It has a light creamy custard-like taste. Yum! Be sure to beat it for the full 10-12 minutes...it really makes a difference on how light and creamy it gets. Thanks for the great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I'm sorry this was so terrible.I upped the sugar to 3 cups,tasting in-between and it is still barely edible.If you like custard pudding flavor then go for it,if not find something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Last night I needed a quick and easy recipie for frosting, and I found this one. I wish I would have taken a few more moments to search. Anyone who is looking for a good recipie for frosting I urge you to keep looking. I ruined my cake last night. And yes the frosting was beating for 12 mins. If you do use this recipie sub the white surgar for confectioners and add a 1/4 more. half the fatty shorting or just use double butter flavored margarine. Too much to subsitute just take a few moments and find another. Tastes like wax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I really liked the flavor and the texture of this icing, even though I was a little nervous about mixing hte flour and milk at first (it looked like a wierd gravy thing), but it turned out delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I ran out of "store" brought frosting and I'm so happy that I found this recipe. I love the texture and flavor of the frosting. It is very creamy and rich. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States