White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very good frosting, especially on chocolate cake. Light and fluffy, not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
What a lovely and simple old-fashioned frosting recipe! :) I made mine bright pink with 3 drops of red food coloring. A real winner. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer on med-high and the texture came out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaNuchols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Very good recipe! Simple not too sweet. Don't worry about the cooking part it takes like 2-3 min. awesome! Don't use Imitation vanilla! P.S. I hate shortening just used 1 cup real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I needed a quick white frosting to put on my pineapple cake.I tried this one and everyone in house loved it.It is almost custard like but was very easy and different tasting.I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is my favorite frosting recipe. Whenever I frost a cake, I pull out this recipe. Be sure to mix the flour and milk before putting the pot on the stove. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My family loves this frosting. Its not as sweet as powdered sugar frosting and it never crusts. It also works great for filling chocolate cupcakes, its just like a hostess cupcake. The only tip I would like to give is after you cook the flour and milk put a piece of plastic wrap on the top of the mixture while it is cooling to keep a skin from forming. This will prevent any lumps from forming in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used this as a frosting on homemade cinnamon rolls and it was awesome! It was a little runny, but the flavor was perfect for the cinnamon rolls. I love that it's not too sweet that it's over the top. I'll be using this many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas Kountry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great, versatile recipe. I wanted to make an eggnog flavored frosting for the holidays and this recipe was great as a base to modify for that. I'll be using your recipe for a long time to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This frosting is super multi-purpose and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Well my 2 yr old daughter and I tried this one. Not bad, but we learned a valuable lesson. When it calls for shortning..... you must use shortning. We tried to substitute and well, it came out a lil greasy or oily. Not a bad frosting. Definately gonna use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States