White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Frosting was runny and tasted like shortening. Reducing the shortening could help improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This fluffed up SO beautifully in the mixer, but I could not overcome the graininess if the sugar. yuck. Do not use this recipe if you don't have fine sugar. Mine was just too coarse and did not blend in smooth despite being in the kitchen aid mixer on high for an eternity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I added 3 Tbs of Pumpkin Pie filling and 1 Tbs of red food coloring and put this on top of Pumpkin Bread...... It was well recieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MummyJacks
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Pretty good, not too sweet just how my family likes em! Had to add 1/4 to 1/2 cup extra sugar though to get a little more taste going. TIP: I put my sugar into my magic bullet beforehand, ground it up a bit smaller and I didn't have to use the mixer for half as long as suggested. A blender would probably work the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Tastes like shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachas6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
could not get rid of the chunks from the milk and flour mixture. mixed for 20 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I tried making this recipe twice! I feel like i just wasted an hour. and lots of ingredients. The second time it came out better cuz i didn't overcook (?) the milk (how on earth are you supposed to "boil" milk?), but even the second time after 15 minutes of beating the frosting til has... holes... in it. i can't describe it any other way. and it has small chunks of flour. i don't kno what i did wrong. i followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is the recipe I have been looking for years, love the fact it is not to sweet, I could have eaten it without the cake. I took the advice of two reviewers, used all butter, and I whisked the milk and flour before cooking it to make sure there were no lumps. I did not refridgerate it, it was just fine for 4 days. Thank you so much my search is finally over, will never buy store bought frosting again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Might be among the most delicious frostings ever! And so easy to do. I am never running out to the store for premade corn syrup frosting ever again. I had it beating in the KitchenAid stand mixer for a full 12 minutes (maybe a little more). I didn't have shortening so used all unsalted butter instead (therefore 1cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very easy and very tasty. Not too sweet. Looked really fluffy and kind of "retro" (with added rainbow sprinkles and American flags) on my 4th of July cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States