White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My 87 year old mother called this "flour frosting." I agree with the comments on preparing it. Important to whisk milk and flour before it goes in sauce pan. It also makes a lot. I halved it to cover a bundt cake, and it was perfect. I used 2 heaping tbs. of flour, 1 stick butter, 1/2 cup sugar, splash of vanilla. Beat for about 10 minutes and it looks like whipped cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe because I needed a frosting that did not call for powdered sugar. I am glad I read most of the reviews first! I used Cinnabon flavored coffee creamer in place of half of the milk in the "custard" portion, and I think that is what saved it for me. Otherwise it would have tasted like slightly sweet butter. I used all butter, no shortening, because I didn't have any. I had no problems with grainy texture. And it was not runny, as some reviewers said. The only way it could have been runny is if the custard was not cooled completely, causing the butter to melt, or not letting the custard boil and thicken properly. And as a couple of reviewers said it was lumpy... maybe they don't know how to make a basic gravy? If you whisk the flour and milk really well before putting it in a pan and heating it, then stir constantly as it heats and thickens, it stays lump free. I didn't even use a whisk while it was heating, I used a nylon "spork" instead. (I didn't want to use a wire whisk in a pan with a non-stick interior) I whipped the butter (room temp) with the sugar and vanilla extract first, so there were no lumps of butter as another reviewer said she had. The texture was great, nice and fluffy, easy to spread. I put it on a dark chocolate layer cake. I think I will try it as a filling for a pumpkin roll next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Freeman-Bauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My mom had a recipe exactly like this only she called it custard frosting. It's always been my family's favorite frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
After about 12 mins in my kitchen-aid, this frosting was awesome....unfortunately it was at this point I had little ones yelling "make it blue!", which I did. To my dismay after 4 drops of food coloring and another 5mins of beating, it broke. Oh well, had I left it the way it was supposed to be, it whipped up beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I wanted to make a frosting instead of buying one. I followed the directions exactly and it looked like it was separating. I beat it for the full time and it didn't make it look any better. The only highlight of this recipe was the taste, tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Update: this frosting was not well received by my dinner guests. Maybe a chocolate version might be better. In the future, when I'm in a pinch, I'll stick with 7 minute frosting that I've had better feedback on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This worked out great despite the fact that I quartered the recipe. I still followed as directed. I was looking for a frosting recipe without confectioners sugar as I don't like the taste of it. The sugar is completely incorporated if the butter/shortening/flour, etc. mixture is beaten long enough as directed. Therefore, I would recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Ok I am a 13 year old girl and I love to cook! except i couldn't believe the way this frosting came out. When you put in the milk and flour you should specify and tell us to dust it in because my mixture came out real clumpy. It also tasted buttery and it was more yellow than white. when i taste tested it I think it tasted gross. My dad thought it wasn't bad. When I put it on the funfetti cake it seemed to run down the side so I added about 2-3 cups of flour and I sprinked it on litely and then mixed it and repeated this. on the cake it didn't taste bad probably because there was more cake than frosting no affense but I would never make this again PS. please do not feel affended this is just my opinion Boo ya jack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This ruined my cake:/ I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I have used this recipe for years and it is a family favorite. I use all butter in the recipe. The best tips for making this recipe a success are: 1) Whisk your flour into the milk before cooking. I use a rounded 1/4 cup flour. 2) Cook flour milk mixture until it is thick like paste. 3) Someone said not to let the milk boil. You have to let it boil gently to get to the paste stage. 4) Cover the hot paste like mixture with plastic wrap before putting in fridge. This will keep a skin from forming. 5)Cool flour mixture completely before proceeding with recipe. Meanwhile bring butter to room temp. 6)Beat all ingredients in stand mixer for full 10 to 12 minutes or longer. Frosting should be light and fluffy, and sugar granules completely dissolved. I keep cake or cupcakes in fridge until just before serving time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States